Marshall B. Peterson Award

The Marshall B. Peterson Award is given biennially in recognition of a young engineer in research as demonstrated by papers published in scientific journals of ASME and promise for pursuit of research in tribology. It is preferred, but not required, that the awardee’s research emphasis be on materials aspects of tribology, e.g. wear, friction materials, and solid lubricants.

The Research Committee on Tribology and the Tribology Division established this award in 1997.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $2500 and certificate
Limitation(s): Must be under the age of 30 at the time of the nomination deadline (i.e., February 1) in the year of the award being granted.
Administrative Responsibility: Tribology Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1 (biennially)
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Marshall B. Peterson Awardees

1998 Wallace G. Sawyer
2000 Matthew P. Szolwinski
2002 Jiaxin Zhao
2004 Deborah A. Wilde
2006 Nicolas Fillot
2008 David L. Burris
2010 Andrew R. Konicek
2012 Melih Eriten
2014 Brandon A. Krick
2016 Harmandeep S. Khare
2020 Zhou Chen
2024 Tomas F. Babuska

You are now leaving