James N. Landis Medal

The James N. Landis Medal is presented for outstanding personal performance in the design, construction, or management of major steam-electric stations using nuclear or fossil fuels. The candidate must also demonstrate personal leadership in humanitarian pursuits, which may include committee activity, Section leadership, or the broad non-technical professional activity of the individual’s engineering society.

The award was established in 1977 in honor of James N. Landis, President of ASME in 1958.

Nomination Form
Nomination Instructions

Form of Award:

$7,500, bronze medal, a certificate and a $750 travel allowance

Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Power and Nuclear Engineering Divisions
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
E-mail: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1977 James N. Landis 1992 George V. McGowan 2006 Harold R. Denton
1978 William E. Hopkins 1993 Roland J. Jensen . 2008 Dale E. Klein
1980 Harvey F. Brush 1994 Osmund W. Dixon 2010 Regis A. Matzie
1981 Vincent S. Boyer 1995 Eugene V. Abraham 2012 Peter B. Lyons
1982 Huberto R. Platz 1996 Robert P. McDonald 2014 Susumu Mochida
1983 Byron Lee, Jr. 1999 Zack T. Pate 2017 Yassin A. Hassan
1984 Mendall H. Long 2000 P.J. Adam, Jr.
1986 John W. Turk, Jr. 2001 Corbin A. McNeill
1987 Warren H. Owen 2002 Elmer B. Harris
1989 Wallace B. Behnke, Jr. 2003 William D. Magwood, IV
1990 John E. Dolan 2004 Toshiaki Hasegawa
1991 William S. Lee   Ashwani K. Gupta

You are now leaving ASME.org