J.P. Den Hartog Award

J.P. Hartog Award

The ASME J.P. Den Hartog Award recognizes lifetime contributions to the teaching and practice of vibration engineering.

The award was established by the Design Engineering Division in 1987 and operated as a division award until 2010 when it was elevated to a Society award. The award shall be given in odd-numbered years.

Form of Award: $3000, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Design Engineering Division Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound
Nomination Deadline Date: July 31 (even years)
Nomination Sent To: J.P. Den Hartog Award Committee Chair
Special Award Committee Chair: M. Ruzzene
Phone Number: 404-894-3078
E-mail: massimo.ruzzene@aerospace.gatech.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

J.P. Den Hartog Award Recipients

2011 Chieh-Su Hsu
2013 Peter Hagedorn
2015 David John Ewins
2017 Kon-Well Wang
2019 Singiresu S. Rao
2021 Balakumar Balachandran 

J.P. Den Hartog Award Recipients (Division Level) 

1987 J.P. Den Hartog
1989 W.T. Thomson
1991 S.H. Crandall
1993 R.E.D. Bishop
1995 T.K. Caughey
1997 A.H. Nayfeh
1999 L. Meirovitch
2001 Y.K. Lin
2003 V. Modi
2005 C.D. Mote, Jr.
2007 D.J. Inman
2009 E.H. Dowell


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org