Holley Medal

Holley Medal

The Holley Medal was established in 1924 to honor Alexander Lyman Holley, charter member of ASME. It is awarded for outstanding and unique act(s) of an engineering nature, accomplishing a noteworthy and timely public benefit by one or more individuals for a single achievement, provided the contributions are equal or comparable.

This medal commemorates Alexander Lyman Holley (1832-1882), who chaired the first meeting of ASME’s founders, Feb. 16, 1880, and was the principal author of the Society’s first by-laws.

Mr. Holley is recognized for introducing the Bessemer process of steelmaking to the United States, thus making large quantities of steel economically available to support a rapid growth in American industry during the late-nineteenth and the twentieth centuries.

Attention shall be concentrated on the brilliance of the art --not on the individual. The achievement should be of such public importance as to be worthy of the gratitude of the nation and to call forth the admiration of engineers.

In 1973, eligibility for this award was amended to recognize more than one individual for a single achievement, provided that each individual made an equal or comparable contribution.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $1000, vermeil medal and certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: March 1
E-Mail: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Holley Medalists

2023 Robert Hauck
2020 Yogesh Jaluria  
2010  Ashwani K. Gupta
2008 David G. Lilley
2005 James D. Walker
2001 Heinz Erzberger
1998 Donna L. Shirley
1996 Bernard J. Miller
1994 Dominick Danna
Richard W. Newman
William C. Moore
1991 James R. Thompson
1990 Roy J. Plunkett
1989 Jack S. Kilby
Jerry D. Merryman
James H. Van Tassel
1988 Vernon D. Roosa
1987 Robert J. Moffat
1986 Wilson Greatbatch
1985 John V. Atanasoff
1982 Jack St. Clair Kilby
1980 Soichiro Honda
1979 Bruce G. Collipp
Douwe de Vries
1977 J. David Margerum
1976  Emmet N. Leith
Juris Uppatnieks
1975 George M. Grover
1973 Harold E. Edgerton
Kenneth J. Germeshausen
1969 George J. Hood
1968 Chester F. Carlson
1963 William Shockley
1961 Thomas Elmer Moon
1959 Col. Maurice J. Fletcher
1957 Charles S. Draper
1955 George J. Hood
1954 Walter A. Shewhart
1953 Philip M. McKenna
1952 Sanford L. Cluett
1951 George R. Fink
1950 Charles G. Curtis
1948 Edwin H. Land
1947 Raymond D. Johnson
1946 Norman Gibson
1945 Sanford A. Moss
1944 Carl L. Norden
1943 Vannevar Bush
1942 Ernest O. Lawrence
1941 John C. Garand
1940 Edwin H. Armstrong
1939 Carl E. Johansson
1938 Francis Hodgkinson
1937 Frederick G. Cottrell
1936 Henry Ford
1934 Irving Langmuir
1930 Baron C. Shiba
1928 Elmer A. Sperry
1924 Hjalmar G. Carlson

You are now leaving ASME.org