Heat Transfer Memorial Award

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award is bestowed on individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practice, design, service, leadership, inventions, or a combination of such activities.

One award may be made annually in each of the three following categories: the science of heat transfer, the art of heat transfer, and the general subject of heat transfer. Each of the three categories of science, art and general is based on achievements through publications, patents and/or inventions, advancement of educational content and/or pedagogy, or exemplary community service with a focus on heat transfer. These can include but are not necessarily limited to the following:

Science – Publication of results in professional journals, reports, books, peer-reviewed conference or symposium proceedings, and other such platforms, to establish substantive advancements in thermal science through analytical, computational, and/or experimental research. The research contributions are considered to be seminal, or breakthrough discoveries and/or processes, or significant advancement of prevailing science. This may also include science-related patents.

Art – Significant contributions to the art and application of heat transfer engineering through design and development of heat transfer components and systems, and/or development and publication of heat transfer correlations for industrial applications, which have been implemented or are used in practice. Publication of applications-oriented results in heat transfer handbooks, design data books, and in other similar industry use platforms, including peer-reviewed journals. Development and practical implementation of economic analyses of heat transfer systems. Award of application-related patents; leadership in heat transfer related design or industrial product development; and other such appropriate achievements.

General – Extensive service to the mission of the ASME Heat Transfer Division (HTD) and its community. This may be reflected in exemplary volunteer leadership positions in HTD and ASME; as an editor or associate editor of an ASME heat transfer journal; in a proactive and impactful role in technical sessions at national and international conferences; in an impactful role in cross-division, cross-segment, and cross-sector activities of ASME and HTD. Leadership in student and early career mentoring, especially with heat transfer and ASME related activities. Publish nationally and/or internationally recognized and impactful (adopted, highly referenced, etc.) heat transfer textbooks or monographs or handbooks.

Each nomination is to be submitted in only one of the three categories, and this should be so indicated a priori on the nomination form.

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award was established by the Heat Transfer Division in 1959 and operated as a division award until 1974 when it was elevated to a Society award.

Nomination Form
Nomination Instructions

Form of Award: $1000, plaque and certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Heat Transfer Division
Nomination Deadline: October 1
Send Nomination To: Raj M. Manglik
Nomination Approved By: General Awards Committee
Phone Number: 513-556-5704
Email: Raj.Manglik@uc.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Heat Transfer Memorial Award Recipients

1975 Simon Ostrach, Peter Griffith 2001 Portonovo S. Ayyaswamy, George P. Peterson
1976 Raymond Viskanta, Warren H. Giedt 2002 Massoud Kaviany, Je-Chin Han, Roop, L. Mahajan
1977 Robert D. Cess, Rolf H. Sabersky 2003 Dimos Poulikakos, M. Michael Yovanovich, James R. Welty
1978 Richard J. Goldstein, John A. Clark 2004 Mohammad Faghri, Yildiz Bayazitoglu
1979 Yih-Yun Hsu, Arthur E. Bergles 2005 Abdolhossein Haji-Sheikh, Michael Modest, Wei Shyy
1980 John H. Lienhard 2006 Arun Majumdar, C. Thomas Avedisian, Kambiz Vafai
1981 Kwang-Tzu Yang, Ared Cezairliyan, Ivan Catton 2007 Donald M. McEligot, Costas Grigoropolous, Van P. Carey
1982 Yasuo Mori 2008 Lawrence A. Kennedy, Leon R. Glicksman, Gang Chen
1983 Roger Eichhorn 2009 Cristina H. Amon, Jong H. Kim, Richard H. Pletcher
1984 Wen-Jei Yang 2010 Suresh V. Garimella, John R. Thome, Mamoru Ishii
1985 Ralph Greif, Virgil E. Schrock 2011 Sumanta Acharya, Bengt A. Sunden
1986 Richard C. Chu, Arcot Ramachandran 2012 Chang H. Oh, Satish G. Kandlikar, Javad Mostaghimi
1987 M. Necati Ozisik, Ralph L. Webb 2013 Aldo Steinfeld, Yogendra Joshi, Issam Mudawar
1988 Gerard M. Faeth, Frank P. Incropera 2014 Jacob Nan-Chu Chung, Xianfan Xu, Kenneth E. Goodson
1989 Bora B. Mikic, Robert J. Moffat, Tom J. Love, Jr. 2015 John H. Lienhard V, Francis A. Kulacki, Zhuomin Zhang
1990 Alfred L. Crosbie, Michael G. Dunn, Michael M. Chen 2016 Brent W. Webb, Raj M. Manglik, Jayathi Y. Murthy
1991 Suhas V. Patankar, John R. Howell, Kenneth L. Johnson 2017 Christoph Beckermann, Zahid Ayub, Mohamed S. El-Genk
1992 Vijay K. Dhir, Wataru Nakayama, Thomas F. Irvine, Jr. 2018 Li Shi, M. Pinar Mengüç, Timothy S. Fisher
1993 Vedat S. Arpaci, W. J. Minkowycz 2019 Satwindar S. Sadhal, Dereje Agonafer, James Klausner
1994 Adrian Bejan, Kenneth R. Diller 2020 Terrence W. Simon, Bahgat Sammakia, Vishwanath Prasad
1995 Yogesh Jaluria, John R. Lloyd 2021 Wilbur J. "Webb" Marner, Laurent Pilon, Michael M. Ohadi
1996 Ping Cheng, Boris Rubinsky, Leroy S. "Skip" Fletcher 2022 Karen A. Thole
Srinath V. Ekkad
Ravi S. Prasher
1997 Chung K. Law, Sadik Kakac    
1998 Amir Faghri, James V. Beck    
1999 Sanjoy Banjerjee, Soung M. Cho, Avram Bar-Cohen    
2000 Ta-Shen Chen, Ramesh K. Shah, Ashley F. Emery    

You are now leaving ASME.org