Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award

In 1938, Pi Tau Sigma (National Mechanical Engineering Honor Society) arranged with ASME for the joint award of the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal. This medal is awarded for outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering to an engineer within ten years after graduation from the regular engineering course of a recognized college or university.

In 1944, the Charles Russ Richards Award was similarly established as a joint award of Pi Tau Sigma and ASME to recognize the outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering by graduating 20 years or more.

In 1973, Pi Tau Sigma and ASME entered into a new agreement which continued the existing awards and added the Gustus L. Larson Award to honor engineering graduates for outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering between ten and twenty years after graduation. Funding was provided from the ASME Ward S. and Editha Jacobs Fund.

The qualifications for the recipients of each of the three awards are identical except for the period of recognized achievements. In each case the recipient shall have received a baccalaureate degree from a regular engineering program of a recognized college or university and shall have attained outstanding achievement within the period stated for each award. Achievement shall be all or in part in any field, including industrial, educational, political, research, civic and artistic. The candidate'/s achievements will be examined for an application of basic engineering methods or principles.

The three awards are administered by a Joint Board of Award appointed by Pi Tau Sigma and ASME. The Chair is a Pi Tau Sigma appointee. The Board of Award provides forms and invites ASME Sections and other units to nominate for the awards. The Board of Award submits the names and records of the persons selected for the three awards to the ASME Committee on Honors for the formal selection of the recipients.


The Gustus L. Memorial Award is presented for outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering, within ten to twenty years following graduation with a baccalaureate (bachelors) degree in Mechanical Engineering or related field. The award is bestowed for overall outstanding achievement in the mechanical engineering field during the set period of time.

The award, established in 1974, honors Gustus L. Larson, ASME Fellow and founder of Pi Tau Sigma at the University of Wisconsin. He was a recognized leader in heating, ventilating, and air conditioning and was a former president of the ASHVE.

Nomination Form
Nomination Instructions

Form of Award:  $1000, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): The nominee must be a person who has received a baccalaureate degree in Mechanical Engineering or other related field within ten to twenty calendar years from the year of the award presentation.
Administrative Responsibility: Committee on Honors (COH)
Nomination Deadline: February 15
Nomination Sent To: Ravi Ravichandran
Phone Number: 626-395-4101
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1975 Chang-Lin Tien 1991 Pol D. Spanos 2008 Andrew G. Alleyne
1976 John G. Bollinger 1992 George P. Peterson 2009 Anna G. Stefanopoulou
1977 Nam P. Suh 1993 Bahram Ravani 2010 Andrei G. Fedorov
1978 Philip H. Francis 1994 Salvatore Torquato 2011 Arvind Raman
1979 Gerald R. Seeman 1995 Wing Kam Liu 2012 Nicolas G. Hadjiconstantinou
1980 Arthur G. Erdman 1996 David N. Ku 2013 William P. King
1981 Terry E. Shoup 1997 Suhada Jayasuriya 2014 Wei Lu
1982 Melvyn C. Branch 1998 Jamal Seyed-Yagoobi 2015 Nikhil A. Koratkar
1983 R. Byron Pipes 1999 James H. Oliver 2016 Kenneth T. Christensen
1984 Robert A. Altenkirch 2000 Cristina H. Amon 2017 Evelyn N. Wang
1985 Klaus-Jurgen Bathe 2001 Arunava Majumdar 2018 Kripa K. Varanasi
1986 Bharat Bhushan 2002 Thomas R. Kurfess 2019 Yong Zhu
1987 David L. Butler 2003 Yonggang Huang 2020 Yuri Bazilevs
        2021 Patrick E. Hopkins
1988 Adrian Bejan 2004 Suresh V. Garimella 2022 Yihui Zhang
1989 Boris Rubinsky 2005 Robert Parker
1990 Dale E. Klein 2006 Narayana R.V. Aluru

You are now leaving