Frank von Flue Award

Frank von Flue Award

The Frank von Flue Award, established in 2002, recognizes significant contributions by an individual or a group to the promotion of lifelong learning for mechanical engineers. Lifelong learning is defined as the continued process of education and/or professional development, following a post-secondary education degree, to maintain the competence and flexibility of mechanical engineers throughout their career. Contributions may include assessment, development, distribution or promotion of materials for lifelong learning via appropriate mechanisms, such as professional development or university extension courses and programmed or self-paced learning.

The award was established by contributions from a group of ASME members and friends to honor the late Frank von Flue, a member of the Board of Governors, an industrial manager and a pioneer in promoting professional development within ASME.

Funding to support the award was provided by Purdue University to honor the contributions of Yeram Touloukian.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $1000, Bronze Medal, Certificate and Travel Expense supplement to attend the award presentation.
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Board on Education
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Persaud Leila
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Frank Von Flue Awardees

2003 James R. Welty
2004 Emil L. Martinec
2005 Allan D. Kraus
2006 William F. Ranson, III
2007 Stephen William Juhasz
2008 General Electric Company
2011 General Motors Corporation

You are now leaving