Edwin F. Church Medal

The Edwin F. Church Medal, established in 1972, is awarded to an individual who has rendered eminent service in increasing the value, importance and attractiveness of mechanical engineering education. Education is used here in its broadest sense of preparation for any aspect or level of mechanical engineering through any appropriate mechanism including universities, technical institutes, professional society educational activities, continuing education programs of professional societies and private groups, in-house professional development programs of industrial concerns and governmental agencies, programmed learning and self-instruction systems.

Nominees may or may not be professional educators. However, the award is not intended to recognize professional educators on that merit alone.

The ‘eminent service’ to be considered for the award as performed by the professional educator must be above and beyond the nominee’s normal activities. Excellence in teaching, research, administration and publications by professional engineering educators is not pertinent unless that activity is outside the usual scope of the nominee’s organization or institution.

The Edwin F. Church Medal may be made to one recipient of any age who need not be a member of ASME. It is administered by the General Awards Committee which secures nominations and makes recommendations to the Committee on Honors which selects the recipient.

The Church Medal was established from a bequest of Edwin F. Church, Jr. (1879-1964), loyal member of ASME, devoted supporter of ASME student activities, dedicated teacher, and for thirty-two years professor of mechanical engineering and head of the department at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn.

Form of Award: $1000 honorarium, bronze medal, certificate, plus travel expenses to attend the award presentation, not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): Services performed within the context of an individual’s normal employment are not eligible
Nomination Deadline: September 1
Nomination Sent To: Church Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: J.W. Cipolla
Phone Number: 617-429-9746 
E-mail: jwc@neu.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Edwin F. Church Medal Recipients

1973  Wilbur R. Leopold 1998 Allan D. Kraus
1974 Hobart A. Weaver 1999 Woodie C. Flowers
1975 Harry Conn 2000 John H. Lienhard
1976  Frank W. Von Flue 2001 Frank Kreith
1979 Kenneth A. Roe 2002 William S. Hammack
1980 Dennis K. Bushnell 2003 Devendra P. Garg
1981 Neal P. Jeffries 2004 David Lavery
1982 Clinton H. Britt 2005 Vincent Wilczynski
1984 Milo Price 2009 Wilbur J. Marner
1985 Emil L. Martinec 2011 Ramesh K. Agarwal
1987 Garland H. Duncan 2012 Kenneth S. Ball
1988 Dale E. Klein 2013 William M. Worek
1989 Adolph T. Molin 2014 John W. Cipolla
1990 James R. Welty 2015 William J. Wepfer
1991 Joseph A. Falcon 2016 Karen A. Thole
1992 Stephen Juhasz 2017 Francis A. Kulacki
1993 Larry C. Oyen 2018  Kendra V. Sharp
1994 Avram Bar-Cohen 2019 Andreas Polycarpou
1997 Dean Kamen 2020 Nael Barakat
    2021 Efstathios E. Michaelides 


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org