Dixy Lee Ray Award

The Dixy Lee Ray Award, established in 1998, recognizes significant achievements and contributions in the broad field of environmental protection. As a general rule, in alternate years achievement in the following areas will be recognized: environmental engineering, including environmental technology and related topics; other environmental areas, including environmental health, environmental sciences, environmental management and policy, and related topics.

The award was established in honor of Dixy Lee Ray’s advocacy to the development of those technologies that serve humanity. She believed that the engineering profession was uniquely qualified to develop and implement environmentally acceptable technologies.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award:  $1000, bronze medal, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Environmental Systems Division
Nomination Deadline: January 16
Nomination Sent To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
E-mail: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: General Awards Committee (GAC)

Dixy Lee Ray Award Recipients

1999 Clyde W. Frank 2016 Jerald L. Schnoor
2000 Seymour K. Padnos 2018 C. Andrew Miller
2001 John F. Elter 2020 Edward S. Rubin
2002 Mohammad A. Al-Sarawi 2021 Ashwani K. Gupta
2003 Ines R. Triay 2022 Haroon S Kheshgi
2004 Pedro A. Gelabert    
2005 Goetz K. Oertel    
2006 Richard Pombo    
2007 Richard Wilson    
2008 Peter Maggiore    
2009 Robert G. Watts    
2011 Thad W. Allen    
2012 Goshi Hosono    
2013 Aníbal L. Taboas    
2014 Leo P. Duffy    
2015 Kaufui V. Wong    

You are now leaving ASME.org