Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat

The Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer is given to a young engineer that is under 36 years of age and has received a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in Engineering. The individual must be committed to pursuing research in heat transfer, and must have demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to the field of heat transfer. Such contributions may take the form of, but are not limited to, analytical/numerical methods, equipment/instrumentation, or experimentation - any of which should lead to peer-reviewed publications.

Established by the Heat Transfer Division in 2003, the award was funded through the efforts of Arthur Bergles and Warren Rohsenow who are well known for their accomplishments in heat transfer research and for their mentoring of young researchers.

Form of Award: $1000, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): Must be under 36 years of age and has received a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in Engineering
Administrative Responsibility: Heat Transfer Division
Nomination Deadline: October 1
Nomination Sent To : Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Committee Chair
Nomination Approved By: General Awards Committee
Special Award Committee Chair: R.M. Manglik
Phone Number: 513-556-5704
Technical Division or Other Sponsor: Heat Transfer Division (HTD)
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Bergles-Rohsenow Award Recipients

2004 Srinath V. Ekkad 2015 Baratunde Cola
2005 Sylvie Lorente 2016 Patrick E. Hopkins
2006 Wilson K.S. Chiu 2017 Austin Minnich
2007 Andrei G. Fedorov 2018 Asegun Henry
2008 Laurent Pilon 2019 Yongjie Hu
2009 William P. King 2020 Amy Marconnet
2010 Ronggui Yang 2021 Nenad Miljkovic
2011 Edmond J. Walsh    
2012 Evelyn N. Wang    
2013 Kripa K. Varanasi    
2014 Jonathan A. Malen    


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving