Arthur L. Williston Medal

The Arthur L. Williston Medal recognizes an engineering student or recent graduate for “fostering civic service.”

The recipient(s) shall demonstrate considerable leadership in activities that “stimulate, foster or develop increased interest in, sense of responsibility for, or urge [others to] participate in social-service, civic, or public-spirited activities for the benefit of society.” Examples of such leadership may include but are not limited to serving in elected office or on active operating/advisory boards, leading initiatives on campus and/or in local community-based organizations, and participating in advocacy on important issues, particularly those relevant to engineering. Efforts that demonstrably increase civic engagement shall receive special consideration.

Arthur L. Williston, ASME Member, established the medal in 1954.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award:

$1000, bronze medal, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance

$500 honorarium and certificate (2nd)

$250 honorarium and certificate(3rd)

Limitation(s): Recent graduates must have received their baccalaureate degree no more than two years prior to the date of submission of their application. ASME membership is required at the time of submission. Application must include a statement describing the candidate’s role and describing how her/his leadership fosters a spirit of civic service.
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: February 22
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Arthur L. Williston Medalists

Year First place Second Place Third Place
2022 Radhika Dharmadhikari Michel Khoueiry  
2021 Vineet Vashi    
2018 Noah M. Purdy    
2017 Austin P. Kraus Joseph R.H. Schaadt  
2016 Leong Ka Long Karen    
2015 Matthew D. Hill Tara Larkin Joseph R. Schaadt
2014 Mavila M. Miller Bernard K. Witschen Uyanna Obinna
2013 Cassandra N. Hawley James P. Crawford Lucas C. Poppe
2012 Kyle C. Picha Daniel J. Hershman  
2011 Prabal Goyal Nathaniel D. Taylor Jericho Paolo O. Rivera
2010 Andrew N. Rister Elizabeth Betterbed Andrew W. Corwell
2009 Michael Simmons Tessa RaeKnott Elizabeth Betterbed
2008 Raymond M. Meyer Walter S. Fredenhagen III Chris L. Cohoat
2007 Michael Steel Lori Michelle Neidig Danielle Kimberly Williams
2006 Tyler E. Schnug Amanda M. Thomas Joy K. Adjorlolo
2005 Valerie Stringer John Q. Bolton  
2004 Marie H. Hoffman Paul F. Tatum Aashish Kalra
2003 David L. Damm Scott A. Fisher Christopher L. Murphy
2002 Anne M. Hines Andrew E. Karl  
2001 Amip Shah David L. Damm Anne Hines
1999 Matthew E. Myers Donna L. Hall Koh Boon Kiat
1998 Darrick A. Dean Elizabeth M. Mastal Aaron Marsh
1997 Laura R. Foster Kenneth P. Horne Brian D. Myers
1996 Jeffrey M. Otto Che J. Barnes Ookyong Kim
1995   Connie J. Bleidorn Anthony T. Lomma
1994 Michael J. Zinngrabe Jeffrey Craig Morris Daniel A. Fletcher
1993 Daniel A. Fletcher Wade LaGrenade Daniel A. Fletcher
1992 Sean L. Neilson Gilroy S. Ames Kingman Tang
1991 Matt Pruszynski Kenneth Skoug III Kathleen A. Conley
1990 Robert J. Stehlik Randall W. Meinert John E. Davison
1989   David A. Walker Deborah S. Schenberger
1988 Christian L. Struble Michael E. Kennedy John Ellenz
1987 Thomas C. Davis    
1986 Stephen J. Schoonmaker    
1985 Henry M. Quillian III    
1984 Eddie E. Ferrer    
1983 Max R. Casada    
1982 John H. Pilarski    
1980 Charles S. Macaulay    
1979 Steven E. Stephens    
1978 Jitendra S. Goela    
1977 Harry W. Groot    
1976 Enud David Laska    
1974 James J. Callas    
1973 Frank H. Roubleau, Jr.    
1972 Dennis L. Sandberg    
1971 James A. Willms    
1970 Steven H. Carlson    
1969 Arlo Fossum    
1968 Frank A. Ralbovsky    
1967 L. Thomas Cooper III    
1966 Eddie R. Howe    
1965 LaRoux K. Gillespie    
1964 Kenneth E. Gawronski    
1962 Charles H. Recht    
1961 James R. Stewart    
1960 Marc Fishbein    
1959 Rowe A. Girardini    
1957 Walter P. Logeman    
1956 John A. Welsh    


Arthur L. Williston Flyer

You are now leaving