Young Engineer Award

ASME Unit:   Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established:   2008
Achievement:   To recognize a promising young investigator who is making outstanding contributions to the progress in the application of computers in engineering.

To ensure that it is presented to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award it may not be presented every year.
Limitations:   The candidate must be below the age of 40 years at the time of nomination. The candidate must also be an ASME member and be in good standing at the time of nomination. Current members of the CIE Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.
Nomination Deadline:   May 1, 2019
Form of Award:   The recipient will receive a certificate and a $1000 award, which will be presented at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference.
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Computers & Information in Engineering Division
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   The selection will be based on the nominee's achievements, testimonials from peers, and the promise for significant impact on CIE. The selection of the winner will be made by a committee appointed by the CIE division chair.
Selecting Process:   Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by 5pm EST, on May 1, 2019 to Ian Grosse ( and should be addressed to ASME CIE Young Engineer Award Committee.
Funding:   CIE Division Custodial Fund
Date Created:   11/26/2008
Date Modified:   10/3/2012
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Young Engineer Award

2018 - Douglas L. Allaire
2017 - Rahul Rai
2016 - Mahesh Mani
2015 - None
2014 - Paul William Witherell
2013 - Athanasios Iliopoulos
2012 - Gregory M. Mocko
2011 - Gaurav Ameta
2011 - Abhishek Seth
2010 - Jitesh Panchal
2009 - Charlie C.L. Wang
2008 - Roshan D'Souza