Scholar Award

ASME Unit:   International Gas Turbine Institute
Date Established:   1989
Achievement:   The International Gas Turbine Institute Scholar will be a person with a significant depth of knowledge in some aspect of gas turbine technology who will write a learned and comprehensive paper, and present it as a lecture at the ASME Turbo Expo.
Nomination Deadline:    
Form of Award:   $1000 cash and plaque
Frequency of Award:   Every two years
Administrative:   ASME International Gas Turbine Institute
Level of Award:   Institute
Selected By:   An 8 member Scholar Awards Committee, chaired by the Awards & Honors Committee Chair
Selecting Process:   An invitation is issued from a selected list of candidates proposed by IGTI Technical Committee members and others. The Scholar Awards Committee, chaired by the IGTI Awards & Honors Committee Chair, selects the recipient from the list of nominees.
Funding:   IGTI's Operating Fund
Date Created:   10/10/2000
Date Modified:   9/1/2015
Contact Name:   ASME Staff
Contact Email:
Contact Phone:   1-281-493-3491

Winners of the Scholar Award

1991 - Robert Mayle
1993 - John Denton
1995 - Arthur Lefebvre
1997 - Amrutur Srinivasan
1999 - John Adamczyk
2001 - Michael Dunn
2003 - Alan Epstein
2005 - Ben Zinn
2007 - Edward Greitzer
2009 - Nicholas Cumpsty
2011 - Om Sharma
2013 - Allan Volponi
2015 - Ivor Day
2017 - Ron Bunker
2019 - Kenneth Suder