ORR Early Career Award

ASME Unit:   Materials Division (MD)
Date Established:   2004
Achievement:   Given by the Orr Family through the Materials Division of ASME to recognize early career research excellence in the areas of experimental, computational, or theoretical fatigue, fracture, or creep. Annually at IMECE.
Limitations:   Any researcher within 7 years of terminal degree working in experimental, computational, or theoretical fatigue, fracture, or creep can be considered for the Materials Division Orr Early Career Award.
Nomination Deadline:   February 15
Form of Award:   Medal and $4000 Honorarium and up to $1000 travel reimburesement
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Materials Division (MD)
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   Materials Division Executive Committee
Selecting Process:   Nominations will come from members of the Materials Division Executive Committee, the editor of the Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology, and the Chairs of the ASME Technical Committees or their designees. The nominator must name the proposed young investigator, briefly describe the importance of the work by the early-career investigator, and give the nominee's full contact information to the MD EC Awards Chair. The Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee will present the nominations to the Materials Division Executive Committee for a final vote.

For information on nominations, visit the ASME Unit Award Nominations Page.

Funding:   Materials Division (MD)
Nominations should
be submitted to:
  Valeria La Saponara, vlasaponara@ucdavis.edu
Date Modified:   December 2015

Winners of the ORR Early Career Award

2015 - Michael D. Sangid, Purdue University
2014 - Jaafar El-Awady, Ph.D, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
2013 - Kiran N. Solanki, Arizona State University
2012 - Shuman Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 - Samantha Daly, University of Michigan
2010 - Vikas Tomar, Purdue University
2009 - Dr. Frank W. Delrio, National Institute of Standards and Technology
2008 - Diana A. Lados, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
2007 - Gabriel P. Potirniche, University of Idaho