Leadership Award

ASME Unit:   Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established:   1987
Achievement:   To recognize an individual in the industry/government for outstanding leadership in advancing the use of computers in engineering practice.

To ensure that it is presented to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award it may not be presented every year.
Limitations:   All leaders in the industry and government are eligible. Current members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.
Nomination Deadline:   April 1, 2018
Form of Award:   The recipient will receive a plaque at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference.
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Computers in Engineering Division
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   Selection will be based on evaluation of accomplishments as evidenced by documented testimonials, which should clearly demonstrate the nominee's leadership in advancing the state of the art of the use of computers and information/knowledge/process management solutions for engineering processes, including developing innovative software and/or ensuring widespread use of computational techniques and/or accelerating solution adoption, assimilation and deployment in an organization.
Selecting Process:   The nomination package should contain the latest resume, a statement (not exceeding 750 words) on the nominee's contributions and impact, and at least three and no more than five recommendation letters from individuals who can assess the nominee's contributions. The nominator should be a member of ASME, while individuals providing recommendation letters need not be members of ASME.

Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by 5pm EST, on April 1, 2018 to Monica Bordegoni (monica.bordegoni@polimi.it) and should be addressed to ASME CIE Leadership Award Committee.
Funding:   CIE Division Custodial Fund
Date Created:   10/18/2000
Date Modified:   10/03/2012
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Leadership Award

2016 - None
2015 - Richard Riff
2014 - Alfred Katzenbach
2013 - Jon Hirschtick
2012 - Paul Adams
2011 - BVR Mohan Reddy
2010 - Robert Kiggans, ATI
2009 - Rodney Dreisbach, The Boeing Company
1990 - John Swanson, Swanson Analysis Systems
1989 - Stephen C. Jacobson, University of Utah
1988 - Joseph F. Gloudeman, MacNeal Schwendler Corp.
1987 - John Sculley, Apple Computers