Graduate Student Award

ASME Unit:   Solar Energy Division (SED)
Date Established:   2000
Achievement:   Recognizes an outstanding graduate student working in an area of solar energy supported by the Solar Energy Division of ASME. Areas of interest include:
  • Conservation and Solar Buildings
  • Heating and Cooling
  • Photovoltaics
  • Solar Chemistry and bio-conversion
  • Solar Thermal Power
  • Wind Energy
  • General solar topics (solar ponds, solar chimneys, OTEC, energy policy,…)

Limitations:   Applicants must be student members of ASME enrolled as full-time graduate students effective December 1 of the previous year
Nomination Deadline:   5/1
Form of Award:   The award includes $1000, a recognition plaque, and registration at the current International Solar Energy Conference held each year (in summer)
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Solar Energy Division
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   A committee consisting of the following two SED Executive Committee members: Past Chair and Current Chair
Selecting Process:   For consideration in 2019, applicants should email an application package by May 1, 2018 to: J. Scheffe (email:
The application package should consist of:
(i) The Application Form
(ii) A Statement of Research
The application material should be submitted electronically to Jonathan Scheffe at the following e-mail address:
Funding:   Custodial Account
Date Created:   11/10/2008
Date Modified:   2/13/2013
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Graduate Student Award

2016 - Winner
Simon Ackermann; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)

2015 - Winner
David Curran; San Diego State University

2014 - Winner
Thomas Cooper; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)

2013 - Winner
John James; Dreby

2011 - Winner
Daniel S. Codd; Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2010 - Winner
Thomas Sebastian; North Carolina State University

2007 - Winner
Frank Burkholder; University of Colorado-Boulder

2005 - Winner
Daniel Thomas; University of Minnesota

2004 - Winner
Nitin Goel; University of Florida - Gainesville

2003 - Winner
Sanjay Vijayaraghavan; University of Florida - Gainesville

2003 - Runner-up
Thomas Osinga; ETH - Zurich

2002 - Winner
Gunnar Tamm; University of Florida - Gainesville

2001 - Winner
James McLeskey, Jr.; University of Virginia

2001 - Runner-up
Wei Liu; University of Minnesota

2000 - Winner
Gary Rosengaten; University of New South Wales

2000 - Runner-up
Joshua Plaisted; University of Wisconsin