Design Automation Award

ASME Unit:   Design Engineering Division (DED)
Date Established:   1988
Achievement:   To recognize sustained meritorious contribution to research in Design Automation.
Nomination Deadline:   4/1
Form of Award:   Plaque
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Design Engineering Division - Design Automation Committee (DAC)
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   Design Automation Honors and Awards Selection Committee
Selecting Process:   Nominations for this award can be made by any member of ASME to TCDA Chair. The nomination package should include specific details of the nominee's contributions to the area of Design Automation and a critical explanation of why these contributions are significant enough to warrant the award. A curriculum vitae should also be included for the nominee, along with letters of recommendation from other researchers in the nominee's field. Nominations are evaluated by the Design Automation Award Selection Committee consisting of the TCDA Chair, the immediate past TCDA Chair, the DAC Conference Chair, and two past winners of Design Automation Award selected by the TCDA Chair, the immediate past TCDA Chair, and the DAC Conference Chair. The TCDA Chair chairs the committee. In the case where a member of the Award Selection Committee is the nominator or a reference of an award applicant, he/she will not participate in the discussion and voting. This award will only be given after the recommendation of 75% of the members of the Design Automation Award Selection Committee. Unsuccessful nomination packages will be held for consideration for two additional years. Providing supplemental documentation such as the updated curriculum vitae and nomination letter is strongly encouraged for such nominations submitted earlier.
Funding:   Funded by the Design Automation Committee
Date Created:   10/18/2000
Date Modified:    
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Design Automation Award

2016 - George Fadel
2015 - Wei Chen
2014 - Vadim Shapiro
2013 - Michael Yu Wang
2012 - Singiresu S. Rao
2011 - Ram Sriram
2010 - Judy Vance
2009 - Masataka Yoshimura
2008 - Jami Shah
2007 - Shapour Azarm
2006 - K.K. Choi
2005 - Ren Ya Yang
2004 - Deba Dutta
2003 - Alan Parkinson
1999 – Farrokh Mistree
1998 - Panos Papalambros
1996 - Bahram Ravani
1995 - Glen Johnson
1993 - Kenneth Ragsdell
1991 - Edward Haug
1990 - Ali Seireg
1988 - Douglas Wilde