ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award

ASME Unit:   Aerospace Division (AERO)
Date Established:   1979
Achievement:   Outstanding paper presented at the annual AIAA/ASME/ASCE/AHS Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Conference (SDM), on the basis of originality and significance to the field.
Limitations:   Papers must be presented at the conference and accompanied by a written copy published in the Proceedings.
Nomination Deadline:    
Form of Award:   Framed certificate and $1,000 honorarium
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   The Structures and Materials Technical Committee of the Aerospace Division oversees this award. The Chair of the Structures and Materials Committee appoints a subcommittee to evaluate papers and presentations.
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   Structures and Materials Technical Committee
Selecting Process:   Session Chairs at the SDM are invited to nominate papers for this award. In addition, Structures and Materials Committee members may also nominate candidates. From the results of these nominations, six to nine high ranking papers are selected for committee consideration.
Funding:   Funds are provided by the Boeing Corporation and the ASME Aerospace Division.
Date Created:   10/18/2000
Date Modified:   3/21/2013
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Contact Phone:    

Winners of the ASME/Boeing Structures and Materials Award

2016 – Naveen Prakash, Gary D. Seidel
2015 – Benjamin D. Goldman; Earl H. Dowell; Robert C. Scott
2014 - Moti Karpel
2014 - Alexander Shousterman
2014 - Carlos Maderuelo
2014 - Hector Climent
2013 - Robert T. Britt
2013 - Daniel Ortega
2013 - John McTigue
2013 - Matthew J. Scott
2012 - Michael S. Lawson
2012 - Jayant Sirohi
2009 - Ashwani K. Padthe
2001 - Razvan Rusovici
2001 - George Lesieutre
2001 - Daniel Inman
2000 - Mark Drela
1999 - G. Harish
1998 - Eli Livne,
1998 - Thomas N. Farris
1997 - James R. Friend
1996 - Peter C. Chen
1996 - Inderjit