Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award

The Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award is given for best original technical paper presented to or published by the Society during the two calendar years prior to the year of award by a Student Member or Member.

Joint authorship is permissible provided all authors meet the requirements. One of the authors must be an ASME Member. The paper shall be specifically recommended for the award by a review committee or qualified individual.

The award was established in 1914 by Henry Hess, Member and Vice President of the Society. In 2016, the name was changed to the Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award.

Form of Award: A $2500 honorarium, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): The author(s) must be one who was not yet 35 years of age or 10 years after terminal degree at the time the paper was presented to or published by the Society during the two calendar years prior to the year of the award. One of the authors must be an ASME Member.
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: March 1
Nomination Sent To: General Awards Committee
Committee Chair: N. Dyess
Phone Number: 212-591-7094
E-mail: mckivorf@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1915 Ernest Hickstein 1943 Troels Warming 1976 G.D. Gupta    
1916 L.B. McMillan 1945 Bruce Del Mar 1977 Robert J. Hannemann    
1919 E.D. Whalen 1946 Martin Goland 1978 Maria Comninou    
1921 S. Logan Kerr 1947 Gilbert T. Rowe 1979 Krishna C. Gupta    
1922 R.H. Heilman 1948 Hunt Davis 1980 Bharat Bhushan    
  F.L. Kallam 1949 Gerhard Nothmann 1984 Richard C. Benson    
1923 S.S. Sanford 1951 John D. Stantz 1986 Steven W. Shaw    
  S. Crocker 1952 Warren Rohsenow 1988 David L. McDowell    
1924 R.H. Heilman 1955 F. Freudenstein 1990 Stephen E. Bechtel    
1925 Gilbert Schaller 1959 Victor Salesmann 1992 Jeffrey S. Marshall    
1927 William M. Frame 1960 Gunnar Heskestad 1993 Mark T. Hanson    
1928 M.D. Aisenstein   Duane Olberts 1995 J. Edward Colgate    
1929 Arthur M. Wahl 1961 J.E. Fleckenstein 2018 Mary H. Foltz    
1930 Ed S. Smith, Jr. 1962 Miklos Sajben   Craig C. Kage    
1931 Montrose Drewry 1963 A. Thiruvengadam   Casey P. Johnson    
1932 Edmund M. Wagner 1964 R.J. McGrattan   Arin M. Ellingson    
1933 Townsend Tinker 1965 J.F. Booker        
1934 John Yellott, Jr. 1966 Jerry R. Johanson        
1935 Stanley Mikiwa 1967 Richard E. Barrett        
1936 H.F. Mullikin, Jr. 1969 James R. Rice        
1937 Leslie J. Hooper 1970 T.L. Geers        
1938 Arthur C. Stern 1972 D.C. Gakenheimer        
1940 Robert E. Newton 1973 Hazem A. Ezzat        
1941 John Rettaliata   Steve M. Rohde        
1942 Winston M. Dudley 1974 Lambert B. Freund        


Literature Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions