Gas Turbine Award

The Gas Turbine Award is given in recognition of an outstanding individual--or multiple--author contribution to the literature of combustion gas turbines or gas turbines thermally combined with nuclear or steam power plants. The paper may be devoted to design aspects or overall gas turbines or individual components and/or systems such as compressors, combustion systems, turbines, controls and accessories, bearings, regenerators, inlet air filters, silencers, etc. It may cover topics specifically related to gas turbines such as high temperature materials or fuel considerations, including erosion and corrosion complications. It can also be devoted to application or operational aspects of gas turbines for aircraft propulsion and ground power units, or automotive, electric utility, gas pipeline pumping, locomotive, marine, oil field pumping, petrochemical, space power, steel, and similar uses. Papers published anywhere in the world are eligible.

The Gas Turbine Division (now International Gas Turbine Institute) established the award in 1963.

Form of Award: $1000 and Plaque
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: International Gas Turbine Institute
Nomination Deadline: June 1
Nomination Send To: Gas Turbine Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: John Blanton
Phone Number: 864-382-0626
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1964 Alexander L. London   Harris D. Weingold   Hasan Karim
1965 J.S. Alford 1989 Joel H. Wagner   Marco J. Castaldi
1966 Franklin O. Carta   Bruce V. Johnson   Shahrokh Etemad
1967 Arthur D. Bernstein   Thomas J. Hajek   William C. Pfefferle
  William H. Heiser 1990 James H. Leylek   Vivek K. Khanna
  Charles M. Hevenor   David C. Wisler   Kenneth O. Smith
1968 O.E. Balje 1991 Ivor J. Day 2004 Ivor J. Day
1969 Carlyle Reid 1992 S.R. Manwaring   Christopher Freeman
1970 J.L. Kerrebrock   David C. Wisler   Thomas Scarinci
  A.A. Mikolajczak 1993 Joel M. Haynes 2005 Ivor J. Day
1971 H.A. Harmon   Gavin J. Hendricks   Christopher Freeman
  A.A. Mikolajczak   Alan H. Epstein   John C. Williams
  D. Marchant 1994 Edward M. Greitzer 2006 Budimir Rosic
1972 F.B. Metzger   Daniel L. Gysling   John Douglas Denton
  D.B. Hanson 1995 Bruce P. Biederman 2007 Timothy Rice
1973 John Moore   Craig J. Fischberg   David Bell
1974 G.L. Commerford   Aaron J. Gleixner   Gurnam Singh
  Lynn E. Snyder   Charles R. Le Jambre 2008 Ronald S. Bunker
1975 Edward M. Greitzer   Chae M. Rhie 2009 Budimir Rosic
1976 J.P. Gostelow   David A. Spear   Eric M. Curtis
1977 Ivor J. Day   Chad J. Yetka   John Douglas Denton
  Nicholas A. Cumpsty   Robert M. Zacharias   John P. Longley
  Edward M. Greitzer 1996 Franz Joos 2010 Martin N. Goodhand
1978 Frank J. Wiesner   Philipp Brunner   Robert Miller
1979 Arthur Schaffler   Burkhard Schulte-Werning 2011 Christian Eichler
1980 Mark S. Darlow   Khawar Syed   Georg M. Baumgartner
  Anthony J. Smalley   Adnan Eroglu   Thomas Sattelmayer
  Alexander G. Parkinson 1997 T.R. Camp 2012 Graham Pullan
1981 G. Gordon Adkins, Jr.   Ivor J. Day   Anna M Young
  Leroy H. Smith, Jr. 1998 Robert E. Kielb   Ivor J. Day
1982 K.V.L. Rao   Josef Panovsky   Edward M. Greitzer
  Arthur H. Lefebvre 1999 Robert C. Steele   Zoltan S. Spakovszky
1983 Chunill Hah   Luke H. Cowell 2013 Harika S. Kahveci
1984 Howard P. Hodson   Steven M. Cannon   Kevin R. Kirtley
1985 Denis J. Doorley   Clifford E. Smith 2014 Robert P. Grewe
  Martin L.G. Oldfield 2000 Thomas Sattelmayer   Robert J. Miller
1986 Simon J. Gallimore 2001 Frank Hummel   Howard P. Hodson
  Nicholas A. Cumpsty 2002 Ammar A. Al-Nahwi 2015 Ho-On To
1987 Leroy H. Smith, Jr.   Samir Nayfeh   Robert J. Miller
1988 Roger L. Davis   James D. Paduano 2016 Svilen S. Savov
  David E. Hobbs 2003 Lance L. Smith   Nicholas Atkins
    Sumiu Uchida