The Freeman Scholar Award Program is conducted biennially in even-numbered years.

A person of extensive experience in fluids engineering is selected as the Freeman Scholar. He/she is expected to review a coherent topic in his/her specialty including a comprehensive statement of the state-of-the-art and to suggest key future research needs. The results will be presented at the International Mechanical Engineering Congress and published in the ASME Journal of Fluids Engineering.

The Freeman Scholar Program is supported by the ASME Freeman Fund and was established in 1926 by John R. Freeman, noted hydraulic engineer and scholar, Honorary Member and Twenty-fourth President of ASME. Mr. Freeman suggested a flexible program for using the funds. In early years it supported fellowships for the study of hydraulic laboratory practice in Europe, later it supported publication of important hydraulic research data, and more recently it was granted to support research programs in hydraulics and fluid mechanics. The current Freeman Scholar Program in fluids engineering represents a timely usage of the Fund and is consistent with the intentions of the donor.

Download Flyer

Form of Award:$10,000 Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.
Administrative Responsibility:Fluids Engineering Division
Nomination Deadline:September 1 (Odd Years)
Nomination Sent To: Freeman Scholar Award Committee Chair
T. O'Hern
Awarded By:Committee on Honors (COH)



1971Jack W. Hoyt, Ronald F. Probstein2000Yogesh Jaluria
1974Jack E. Cermak2002Efstathios E. Michaelides
1976William J. McCroskey2004Gary S. Settles
1978Benjamin Gebhart 2006Promode R. Bandyopadhyay
1980Edward M. Greitzer2008William K. George
1982Simon OstrachJoseph C. Klewicki
1984A.K.M. Fazle Hussain2010Michael W. Reeks
1986John B. Heywood2012Pratap Vanka
1990Budugur Lakshminarayana2014Steven Ceccio
1992William A. Sirignano
1994David E. Stock
1996Kirti N. Ghia
1998Mohamed Gad-el-Hak