The Edward F. Obert Award recognizes an outstanding paper on thermodynamics authored during the preceding two calendar years. The award shall be made for a paper presented at the Advanced Energy Systems Division’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress symposium on energy systems analysis (so long as the symposium continues). The award shall be presented at the following ASME Congress.

The award was established in 1987 as a division award until 1995 when it was elevated to a Society award.

Form of Award: $5000, Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.
Limitation(s): Must be written during preceding two years of presentation
Administrative Responsibility: Advanced Energy Systems Division
Nomination Deadline: March 1
Nomination Sent To: Edward F. Obert Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: K.V. Wong
Phone Number: 305-284-3314
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1997 Thomas P. Anderson 2007 Andrea Lazzaretto
1998 Andrea Lazzaretto Andrea Toffolo
  George Tsatsaronis 2010  Noam Lior
1999 Masaru Ishida   Na Zhang
  Takahiro Suzuki 2012 Michael R. von Spakovsky
  Masashi Yamamoto   Charles E. Smith
2000 Anthony J. Bowman  
  Richard A. Gaggioli
  David Paulus, Jr.  
David H. Richardson
2001 Elias P. Gyftopoulos
2002 Cristian Carraretto
Alberto Mirandola
Anna Stoppato
2003 Luis M. Serra
Antonio Valero
Vittorio Verda
2004 Adrian Bejan
Sylvie Lorente