The ASME Fellow:
A Membership Grade of Distinction

The ASME Committee of Past Presidents confers the Fellow grade of membership on worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements.

Nominated by ASME Members and Fellows, an ASME Member has to have 10 or more years of active practice and at least 10 years of active corporate membership in ASME.

Over 3,000 members have attained the grade of Fellow.

Fellow Qualifications

Nominating a Fellow

  • Members of the Fellow Review Committee shall not initiate or sponsor a Fellow while serving on the Fellow Review Committee.
  • Nominations will be considered quarterly.  Deadline dates:  March 1, June 1, September 1 and December 1.
  • Total proposal package should not exceed 25 pages.
  • 3 sponsor letters plus the nominator's letter is required to complete the nomination. (A total of 4 letters will be accepted).
  • 2 of the sponsors, plus the nominator, must be ASME Members or Fellows.
  • Corporate membership needs to be active.
  • No more than one letter should come from the nominee's employer.
  • No more than 10 significant publications will be acceptable.
  • Incomplete proposals will be held pending for consideration at the subsequent review session.
  • Clearly specify on the proposal form whether it is a surprise or not a surprise nomination. If not clearly specified, proposal will be considered not a surprise.
  • Read qualifications page summary of qualifications should not be included in the letters. It should be a separate document.
  • You may nominate an ASME member that meets the requirements listed above by going to the ASME Online Fellows Nomination Application. Please review this material carefully. If you have any questions, please call Leila Persaud at (212) 591-7071 or All inquiries regarding membership should be directed to: Information Central at (800) 843-2763/(973) 882-1170 or e-mail


Luciano Castillo

Luciano Castillo:
Castillo is the Don-Kay-Clay Cash Distinguished Engineering Chair in Wind Energy and the executive Director/President of the National Wind Resource Center (NWRC) at Texas Tech University. His research has lead to new ideas in turbulent boundary layers and understanding of initial conditions on large scale turbulence, particularly on wind energy. His awards include: the NASA Faculty Fellowship, the Martin Luther King Faculty Award, and the ASME Robert T. Knapp Award. Castillo has published over 100 articles including a seminal paper on turbulent boundary layers and scaling laws and he has developed novel approaches for drag reduction and smart wind farms.
Ph.D. (1997) SUNY Buffalo

T. Kesavadas

T. Kesavadas:
Professor Kesavadas has had a long and distinguished career in the Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering at the SUNY at Buffalo. He has authored more than 125 papers in the areas of Robotics and Automation, Virtual Reality, Medical Simulation and Haptics. He is also the co-founder of Simulated Surgical Systems LLC, developer of the first stand-alone surgery simulator for the da Vinci surgical robot. His ASME activities include serving as Chair of Material Handling Division and the Futures Team, founded by the Board of Governors. Kesavadas also served as a Leadership Development Intern (LDI) from 1997-1998.
Ph.D. (1995) The Pennsylvania State University

Maria Yang

Maria Yang:
Maria Yang has established an exceptional record as a mechanical engineer, researcher and educator in the field of engineering design. Her research has consistently appeared in top international journals and conferences in her field, including the ASME Journal of Mechanical Design and the ASME Design Engineering Technical Conferences. Several of these papers have received awards for their quality and impact on the larger engineering community. In education, Maria has developed a substantial record of inspiring students to think creatively about the design of products through hands-on projects that consider societal needs as well as engineering and technology.
Ph.D. (2000) Stanford University