Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award

The Robert Henry Thurston Lecture, established in 1925 in honor of ASME’s first president, provided an opportunity for a leader in pure and/or applied science or engineering to present to the Society a lecture on a subject of broad interest to engineers. The Thurston Lecture was elevated to a Society award in 2000.

Form of Award: $500, plaque, certificate, and a travel expense supplement not to exceed $500
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Engineering Sciences Segment
Nomination Deadline: February 15
Nomination Sent To: Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Committee Chair
Committee Chair: A.M. Rajendran
Phone Number: 662- 915-5770
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



2001 John W. Hutchinson
2002 Elias P. Gyftopoulos
2003 Yogesh Jaluria
2004 Bharat Bhushan
2005 Savio L-Y. Woo
2006 Sia Nemat-Nasser
2007 Wing Kam Liu
2008 Vijay K. Dhir
2009 Huajian Gao
2010 Ares J. Rosakis
2011 Francis C. Moon
2012 Zhigang Suo

2013 John A. Rogers
2014 Ken P. Chong
2015 Horacio D. Espinosa
2016 Romesh C. Batra
2017 Mohammed A. Zikry
2018 Guruswami Ravichandran


2000 Duncan Dowson
1999 Adrian Bejan
1998 Van C. Mow
1997 Raymond Viskanta
1996 Don P. Giddens
1995 Paul Cooper
1994 Robert M. Nerem
1993 Chang-Lin Tien
1992 John H. Lienhard
1991 Frank Kreith
1990 Jack S. Kilby
1989 Stephen J. Kline
1988 Stephen H. Crandal
1987 Simon Ostrach
1986 Daniel C. Drucker
1985 Yuan-Cheng B. Fung

1984 Robert A. Frosch
1983 Ernst R. G. Eckert
1982 Hans M. Mark
1981 John Erik Jonsson
1980 Milton S. Plesset
1979 W. Dale Compton
1978 Allen F. Rhodes
1977 Robert C. Dean, Jr.
1976 Chauncey Starr
1975 Myron Tribus
1974 Robert W. Emmons
1973 Henry M. Paynter
1972 George F. Carrier
1971 Milton C. Shaw
1970 Jacob P. Den Hartog
1969 Jacob Ackeret