The James Harry Potter Gold Medal recognizes eminent achievement or distinguished service in the science of thermodynamics in mechanical engineering. The basis of the award shall include contributions involving the teaching, appreciation, or utilization of thermodynamic principles in research, development, and design in mechanical engineering.

The award was established in 1980 in honor of James H. Potter.

Form of Award: $2000, Vermeil Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Energy Conversion Technical Group
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: James Harry Potter Gold Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: T. Raviguruajan
Phone Number: 316-978-6370
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1980 Alexander L. London 1999 C. Thomas Avedisian
1981 Joseph Kestin 2000 Dimos Poulikakos
1982 Paul Leung 2001 Kunio Yoshikawa
1983 Kenneth C. Cotton 2003 Aswhani K. Gupta
1984 Robert H. Page 2004 Van P. Carey
1985 Warren H. Giedt 2005 Amir Faghri
1986 Jack P. Holman 2006 Richard O. Buckius
1988 Richard A. Gaggioli 2007 Satwindar Sing Sadhal
1990 Adrian Bejan 2008 Merle C. Potter
1991 James B. Jones 2009 Claus Borgnakke
1992 David Japikse 2010 Massoud Kaviany
1993 George J. Silvestri, Jr. 2011 Mohamad Metghalchi
1995 Elias P. Gyftopoulos 2012 Essam E. Khalil
1996 Antonio Valero 2013 S.A. Klein
1997 Michael J. Moran
1998 George Tsatsaronis