Internal Combustion Engine Award

The Internal Combustion Engine Award recognizes eminent achievement or distinguished contribution over a substantial period of time, which may result from research, innovation, or education in advancing the art of engineering in the field of internal combustion engines; or in directing the efforts and accomplishments of those engaged in engineering practice in the design, development, application, and operation of internal combustion engines. 

In 1966, by bequest, the Diesel and Gas Engine Power Division established this award.

Form of Award: $1000 and Plaque
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Internal Combustion Engine Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Internal Combustion Engine Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: D.E. Richardson
Phone Number: 812-377-4837
 Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1967 Frederick P. Porter 1989   Richard D. Kieser 2007 Paul R. Danyluk
1969 Leo T. Brinson, Jr. 1990  Daniel C. Garvey 2008  Dionissios N. Assanis
1971 Melvin J. Helmich 1991  Fred S. Schaub 2009  Ronald D. Matthews
1972 R. Rex Robinson 1992 John A. Kimberley 2010 John E. Dec
1973 Warren A. Rhoades 1993  Edward F. Obert 2011 Rolf D. Reitz
1974 Warren J. Severin 1994  Otto A. Uyehara 2012 Nicholas P. Cernansky
1975 William Spelcher 1995 John C. Hallinan 2013 John H. Johnson
1979 Helmuth G. Braendel 1997 Benny Ballheimer 2014 Robert M. Wagner
1981 Phillip S. Myers 1999 Serge Gratch 2015 Volker Sick
1982 David B. Field 2000 Charles A. Amann 2016 Terrence F. Alger II
1983 James H. Garrett 2002 Warren E. Snyder 2017 Paul Miles
1984 Samuel S. Lestz 2003 Rodica A. Baranescu
1985 John M. Bailey 2004 Humphrey Niven
1986 Hugh A. Williams, Jr. 2005 Karl J. Springer
1987 Garin M. VanDeMark 2006 N. Richard Dunteman