Henry Laurence Gantt Medal

The Henry Laurence Gantt Medal, established in 1929 and elevated to a Society award in 1999, is given for distinguished achievement in management and for service to the community. 

The medal was established in honor of Henry Laurence Gantt, a prolific writer and one of the first leaders in the scientific management movement to express concern for the human element of productivity. His enduring legacy is the philosophy that seeks to turn the potential of industry into a broad contribution of service to society. He believed that managers should “view their activities from the vantage point of the larger communities business serves, thus dedicating themselves to the doctrine of service

Form of Award: $1000, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Management Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Henry Laurence Gantt Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: J.T. Bozewicz
Phone Number: 215-897-7603
E-mail: bozewiczj@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



2000 Paul Soros
2001 Roy M. Huffington
2002 Alexander W. Dreyfoos
2003 William R. Timken, Jr.
2004 Julie Spicer England
2005 Kathleen M. Bader
2006 Charla K. Wise
2007 Dean L. Kamen (nominated for the Gantt medal, elevated to the ASME Medal)
2009 Charles M. Vest (nominated for the Gantt medal, elevated to Honorary Member)