The George Westinghouse Medals were established to recognize eminent achievement or distinguished service in the power field of mechanical engineering. The Silver Medal is bestowed upon one who is not yet 45 on June 30 of the year in which the medal is awarded. Considering power in the broad sense, the basis of the awards shall include contributions of utilization, application, design, development, research, and the organization of such activities in the power field.

To perpetuate the value of the rich contribution to power development made by George Westinghouse, Honorary Member and Twenty-ninth President of the Society, the Westinghouse Educational Foundation established the Gold Medal in 1952 and the Silver Medal in 1971.

Form of Award:

$1500, Vermeil Medal, Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend award presentation.

$1000, Silver Medal, Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend award presentation.

Limitation(s): Silver Medal to one under 45
Administrative Responsibility: Energy Conservation Technical Group
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: George Westinghouse Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: D.G. Lilley
Phone Number: 405-744-5897
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1953 Alexander G. Christie 1978  Peter Fortescue 2004  Adel F. Sarofim
1954 Walker L. Cisler 1979 William R. Gould 2005  Subramanyam R. Gollahalli
1955 Hyman G. Rickover 1980  Fred J. Moody 2006 Ben T. Zinn
1956 Perry W. Pratt 1981  Earle C. Miller 2007  Roman Weber
1957 Alfred Iddles 1982 William T. Reid 2008 Edwin A. Harvego
1958 Frederick P. Fairchild 1983  Eugene P. Wilkinson 2009  Essam E. Khalil
1960 Ernest C. Gaston 1984  Joseph R. Szydlowski 2010  Wlodzimierz Blasiak
1961 Gerald V. Williamson 1985  Eugene A. Saltarelli 2011 Nicholas Syred
1962 Edwin H. Kreig 1986 Richard J. Coar 2012 Richard R. Schultz
1963 Abbott L. Penniman, Jr. 1987 Henry O. Pohl 2013 Yiannis A. Levendis
1964 Frederick W. Argue 1988 Warren A. Rhoades, Jr. 2014 Ryoichi S. Amano
1965 Robert A. Bowman 1989  J. Ed Smith  
1966 Robert C. Allen 1990   John J. Taylor  
1967 Robert A. Baker, Sr. 1991   Ralph J. Ortolano
1968 Roland A. Budenholzer 1992 Daniel R. Wilkins
1969 Ralph C. Roe 1993 Frederick W. Buckman
1970 Charles A. Meyer 1995 Thomas H. McCloskey
Robert C. Spencer, Jr. 1998 Ashwani K. Gupta
1971 Wilfred McGregor Hall 1999 Atambir S. Rao
1972 William S. Lee 2000 David G. Lilley
1973 Bernard F. Langer 2001 János Miklós Beér
1974 Charles W. Elston 2002 Arthur H. Lefebvre
 1976 John W. Simpson  2003  Yassin A. Hassan

1972 William E. Rice 1987 Albert D. LaRue 2012 Weihong Yang
1973 Michael A. Ambrose 1989 Leslie D. Kramer  
1974 Shelby L. Owens 1990 Atambir S. Rao  
1976 Richard V. Shanklin III 1991 John B. Kitto, Jr.
1977 James C. Corman 1993 Stephen R. Reid  
1978 Romano Salvatori 1995 V.K. "Bindi" Chexal  
1979 Edward W. Stenby 1998 Ting Wang
1980 Robert L. Gamble 2001 Susumu Mochida
1981 Ronald Pigott 2003 Jason E. Jenkins
1982 Leslie D. Kramer 2005 Andrzej Szlek
1983 Remco P. Waszink 2009 Somrat Kerdsuwan
1984 William J. Bryan 2010 Timothy C. Lieuwen
1986 Joseph A. Barsin 2011 Margaret S. Wooldridge