Edwin F. Church Medal

The Edwin F. Church Medal, established in 1972, is awarded to an individual who has rendered eminent service in increasing the value, importance and attractiveness of mechanical engineering education. Education is used here in its broadest sense of preparation for any aspect or level of mechanical engineering through any appropriate mechanism including universities, technical institutes, professional society educational activities, continuing education programs of professional societies and private groups, in-house professional development programs of industrial concerns and governmental agencies, programmed learning and self-instruction systems.

Nominees may or may not be professional educators. However, the award is not intended to recognize professional educators on that merit alone.

The ‘eminent service’ to be considered for the award as performed by the professional educator must be above and beyond the nominee’s normal activities. Excellence in teaching, research, administration and publications by professional engineering educators is not pertinent unless that activity is outside the usual scope of the nominee’s organization or institution.

The Edwin F. Church Medal may be made to one recipient of any age who need not be a member of ASME. It is administered by the General Awards Committee which secures nominations and makes recommendations to the Committee on Honors which selects the recipient.

The Church Medal was established from a bequest of Edwin F. Church, Jr. (1879-1964), loyal member of ASME, devoted supporter of ASME student activities, dedicated teacher, and for thirty-two years professor of mechanical engineering and head of the department at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn.

Form of Award: A $1,000 honorarium, a bronze medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): Services performed within the context of an individual’s normal employment are not eligible
Nomination Deadline: November 16
Nomination Sent To: Church Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: K. Ball
Phone Number: 571-488-8961
E-mail: ball@gmu.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


Edwin F. Church Medal Recipients

1973 - Wilbur R. Leopold
1974 - Hobart A. Weaver
1975 - Harry Conn
1976 - Frank W. Von Flue
1979 - Kenneth A. Roe
1980 - Dennis K. Bushnell
1981 - Neal P. Jeffries
1982 - Clinton H. Britt
1984 - Milo Price
1985 - Emil L. Martinec
1987 - Garland H. Duncan
1988 - Dale E. Klein
1989 - Adolph T. Molin
1990 - James R. Welty
1991 - Joseph A. Falcon
1992 - Stephen Juhasz
1993 - Larry C. Oyen
1994 - Avram Bar-Cohen

1997 - Dean Kamen
1998 - Allan D. Kraus
1999 - Woodie C. Flowers
2000 - John H. Lienhard
2001 - Frank Kreith
2002 - William S. Hammack
2003 - Devendra P. Garg
2004 - David Lavery
2005 - Vincent Wilczynski
2009 - Wilbur J. Marner
2011 - Ramesh K. Agarwal
2012 - Kenneth S. Ball
2013 - William M. Worek
2014 - John W. Cipolla
2015 - William J. Wepfer
2016 - Karen A. Thole
2017 - Francis A. Kulacki
2018 - Kendra V. Sharp