The Burt L. Newkirk Award is given to an individual who has not passed his/her fortieth birthday on July 1 of the year in which the award is conferred and who is an ASME member at the time of nomination. It is given to one who has made notable contributions to the field of tribology in research or development as evidenced by important tribology publications.

Tribology for this award is defined as pertaining to the science and technology associated with surfaces in contact and relative motion with each other. It covers all the fundamentals associated with the field of friction, lubrication and wear. It embraces all the technological aspects of bearings, brakes, clutches, gears, etc.

The award was named after Burt L. Newkirk who made notable achievements in the theory and application of tribology during his industrial career and was an outstanding teacher following his retirement from industry.

Form of Award:$1000 and Certificate
Limitation(s):The individual must be under the age of 40 and an ASME member at the time of nomination
Administrative Responsibility:Tribology Division
Nomination Deadline:February 1
Nomination Sent To:Burt L. Newkirk Award Committee Chair
Special Award Committee Chair: A.A. Polycarpou
Phone Number:979-845-5337
Awarded By:Committee on Honors (COH)



1976Francis E. Kennedy, Jr.1992Thomas N. Farris 2007Lior Kogut
1977Steve M. Rohde1994Srinivasan Chandrasekar2008Michael Nosonovsky
1978Pradeep Gupta1996Christopher DellaCorte2009Robert W. Carpick
1979Thomas A. Dow1997Chiao-Ping Ku2010C. Fred Higgs III
1980Stuart H. Lowenthal1998Timothy C. Ovaert2011Robert L. Jackson
1982Dennis F. Li1999Rohit S. Paranjpe2012Ashlie Martini
1983Bharat Bhushan2000Steven R. Schmid2013Tae Ho Kim
1984Hooshang Heshmat2001Andreas A. Polycarpou
1986Itzhak Green2002Thierry A. Blanchet
1987Pawan K. Goenka2003Sergio E. Diaz
1988Kyriakos Komvopoulos 2004W. Gregory Sawyer
1990Michael M. Khonsari 2005Michael R. Lovell
1991Farshid Sadehi2006Mitjan Kalin