Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat

The Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer is given to a young engineer that is under 36 years of age and has received a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in Engineering. The individual must be committed to pursuing research in heat transfer, and must have demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to the field of heat transfer. Such contributions may take the form of, but are not limited to, analytical/numerical methods, equipment/instrumentation, or experimentation - any of which should lead to peer-reviewed publications.

Established by the Heat Transfer Division in 2003, the award was funded through the efforts of Arthur Bergles and Warren Rohsenow who are well known for their accomplishments in heat transfer research and for their mentoring of young researchers.

Form of Award: $1000, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): Must be under 36 years of age and has received a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in Engineering
Administrative Responsibility: Heat Transfer Division
Nomination Deadline: October 1
Nomination Sent To : Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Committee Chair
Nomination Approved By: General Awards Committee
Special Award Committee Chair: A. Ortega
Phone Number: (610)519-7440
Technical Division or Other Sponsor: Heat Transfer Division (HTD)
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



2004 Srinath V. Ekkad
2005 Sylvie Lorente
2006 Wilson K.S. Chiu
2007 Andrei G. Fedorov
2008 Laurent Pilon
2009 William P. King
2010 Ronggui Yang
2011 Edmond J. Walsh
2012 Evelyn N. Wang
2013 Kripa K. Varanasi
2014 Jonathan A. Malen


Achievement Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions