

#### **SOCIETY POLICY**

## POLLING AND BALLOTING PROCEDURE FOR HONORS, MEDALS AND AWARDS

#### I. PREFACE

- A. By-Law B2.1 states in part: "To promote the art, science and practice of mechanical and multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences to diverse communities throughout the world the Society shall:...""...Offer awards and other honors to encourage contributions to engineering; confer awards and other honors in recognition of meritorious contributions to engineering."
- B. By-Law B5.2.8.1 states, "The Committee on Honors, under the direction of the Board of Governors, shall recommend properly selected candidates for honors, medals, Honorary Members, and awards, and as required shall recommend recipients of joint awards, all subject to approval by the Board of Governors. However, the Board may delegate to the Committee on Honors the power to approve candidates for any honor, medal, or award other than Honorary Member or ASME Medalist."
- C. The Committee on Honors Operation Guide describes the procedures of nominating and electing recipients of Honorary Membership, the ASME Medal and other honors, medals and awards.

#### II. PURPOSE

To define the polling and balloting procedures for honors, medals, and awards.

# III. POLICY

- A. All honors, medals and awards which are the responsibility of the Committee on Honors are to be decided with at least five members of the Committee present and voting, and with no more than one negative vote.
- B. To approve the granting of any honor, medal, or award by ASME units other than the Board of Governors or the Committee on Honors it is required that:
  - 1. A majority of the membership of the responsible Sector Board, Board or Committee be present at the time of the voting;
  - 2. A majority of the members of the Sector Board, board or committee vote in the affirmative, with no more than one negative vote; and
  - 3. There will be no proxy or absentee voting.

### IV. PROCEDURE

- A. Election or Recommendation by the Committee on Honors/General Awards Committee
  - Subject to the policies and procedures set forth in this Society Policy, the Board of Governors and each Committee shall adopt its own rules for the consideration of nominees for honors and awards.
  - 2. The General Awards Committee shall make recommendations to the Committee on Honors for the following medals and awards:

Barnett-Uzgiris Product Safety Design Award

Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer

Blackall Machine Tool and Gage Award

Edwin F. Church Medal

William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award

Fluids Engineering Award

Gas Turbine Award

Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award

Holley Medal

Internal Combustion Engine Award

Bernard F. Langer Nuclear Codes & Standards Award

Charles T. Main Student Leadership Awards

McDonald Mentoring Award

Melville Medal

Burt L. Newkirk Award

Edward F. Obert Award

Old Guard Early Career Award

**Old Guard Prizes** 

Prime Movers Committee Award

Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award

Lakshmi Singh Early Career Leadership Award

Ben C. Sparks Medal

Safety Codes and Standards Medal

Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Design Educator Award

Worcester Reed Warner Medal

Arthur L. Williston Medal

The Committee on Honors, on behalf of the Board of Governors, shall elect the recipients of the above medals and awards.

3. The Committee on Honors, on behalf of the Board of Governors, shall choose the recipients of the following medals and awards:

Adaptive Structures and Materials Systems

Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics

Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Medal

Daniel C. Drucker Medal

Thomas A. Edison Patent Award

Nancy DeLoye Fitzroy and Roland V. Fitzroy Medal

Freeman Scholar Program

Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award

Henry Laurence Gantt Medal

Kate Gleason Award

Richard J. Goldstein Energy Lecture Award

Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal

J.P. Den Hartog Award

Mayo D. Hersey Award

Patrick J. Higgins Award

Soichiro Honda Medal

Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies Inc. Medal

Warner T. Koiter Medal

Robert E. Koski Medal

Allan Kraus Thermal Management Medal

Frank Kreith Energy Award

James N. Landis Medal

Wilfred C. LaRochelle Conformity Assessment Award

H.R. Lissner Medal

Machine Design Award

M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal of ASME/SME

Van C. Mow Medal

Nadai Medal

Nemat-Nasser Early Career Award

Robert M. Nerem Medal

Rufus Oldenburger Medal

Performance Test Codes Medal

Marshall B. Peterson Award

Pi Tau Sigma-ASME Awards

- Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award
- Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal
- Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award

James Harry Potter Gold Medal

Dixy Lee Ray Award

Ralph Coats Roe Medal

R. Tom Sawyer Award

Milton C. Shaw Manufacturing Research Medal

Spirit of St. Louis Medal

J. Hall Taylor Medal

Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award

Timoshenko Medal

Yeram S. Touloukian Award

George Westinghouse Medals

Henry R. Worthington Medal

Savio Lau-Yuen Woo Translational Biomechanics Medal

S.Y. Zamrik Pressure Vessels and Piping Medal

4. The Committee on Honors shall make recommendations to the Board of Governors for the ASME Medal and Honorary Membership in the Society.

- 5. The Committee on Honors shall be responsible for the administration of the Dedicated Service Award.
- 6. The Committee on Honors shall maintain files and shall cooperate with any member or committee of the Society who wishes to make a nomination for the following Joint Awards:

National Inventors Hall of Fame
M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal of ASME/SME

7. Decisions of the Committee on Honors for those honors, awards and medals delegated to it by the Board of Governors shall be reported to the Board of Governors at its next meeting.

The Board of Governors has the right to question any decision of the Committee on Honors.

- 8. The Committee on Honors will also be charged with determining the relevance of continuing ASME participation with the joint awards listed in IV.A.6 above, particularly in the event that the board of award becomes inactive or the objectives of the award board are revised. The Committee on Honors shall make the appropriate recommendation to discontinue any such relationship to the Board of Governors for consideration.
- B. Election by the Board of Governors
  - 1. In an executive session, nominations for the ASME Medal and Honorary Membership received from the Committee on Honors shall be discussed prior to any balloting.

Responsibility: Committee on Honors

Adopted: June 15, 1977

Reaffirmed: August 8, 1994

Revised: June 25, 1980

November 19, 1982 (editorial changes 12/83) September 13, 1983 June 14, 1985

June 16, 1988 (editorial change

(editorial changes 6/88) (editorial changes 8/94)

March 18, 2000

(editorial changes 9/02) (editorial changes 6/1/05)

(addition of two new awards in 6/07)

June 2008

(addition of three new awards in 6/08) (addition of one new award in 6/2009)

(addition of one new award in 6/2010)

(addition of three new awards in 6/2011)

(addition of one new award in 9/2014)

(Addition of one new award in 6/2015)

(Changed responsibility to General Awards Committee for one award and dropped one award 4/2016)

(Updated name to the Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award 7/16)

(Addition of one new award in 2/2017)

(Addition of one new award and the deletion of one award in 2/2018)

(Fluids Engineering Award responsibility changed to GAC 8/18)

(Addition of Richard J. Goldstein Lecture Award 2/19)

(Eight awards responsibility changed to GAC 11/19

(Addition of Lakshmi Singh Early Career Award 1/20)

(Addition of Caughey Medal 6/20)