ENERGY SCIENCES COALITION

December 20, 2013

Senator Dianne Feinstein Chair, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Dirksen Senate Office Building, SD-184 Washington, DC 20510

Representative Mike Simpson Chair, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Rayburn House Office Building, 2362-B Washington, DC 20515 Senator Lamar Alexander Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Dirksen Senate Office Building, SD-188 Washington, DC 20510

Representative Marcy Kaptur
Ranking Member, Subcommittee on
Energy and Water Development
Rayburn House Office Building, 2186
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Senators Feinstein and Alexander and Representatives Simpson and Kaptur:

As you negotiate final FY 2014 funding levels for the Department of Energy (DOE), the undersigned organizations representing universities, businesses, and the scientific community, urge you to assign a high priority to funding for the Department of Energy's Office of Science and the Advanced Research Projects Agency for Energy (ARPA-E). Federal investment in fundamental and high-risk research that would not otherwise be supported by industry is the proper role of government. This is exactly the type of research that is supported by DOE's Office of Science and ARPA-E. Continued strong support for the research sponsored by these two DOE agencies is vitally important to securing our future national energy security, ensuring continued U.S. leadership in key fields of science, and to solving the fiscal and economic challenges facing the nation.

The DOE Office of Science is the nation's primary supporter of basic physical sciences research, providing over 40% of total federal support in this area. Sustained and predictable funding for the DOE Office of Science is also critical to ensure U.S. leadership in other fields including the biological sciences, advanced materials, computing, and engineering. The DOE Office of Science also supports the operation of the largest collection of major scientific user facilities in the world. These user facilities are the backbone of experimental and computational research in the U.S. and are relied upon by over 25,000 scientists from universities, companies, and Federal agencies to conduct their scientific and engineering research. The DOE Office of Science thus plays a critical role in developing the nation's scientific and engineering workforce and in advancing the fundamental knowledge underpinning major energy and other technology-related breakthroughs.

Modeled after the highly successful Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), ARPA-E supports high-risk, high-reward research that private industry will not support, but which has the potential to drastically alter how we generate, store, and use energy. ARPA-E focuses on transformational energy technologies that can be meaningfully advanced with a small investment over a defined period of time. Since 2009, ARPA-E has funded more than 350 projects across 38 states. Of these projects, seventeen projects alone have attracted over \$450 million in private sector capital after ARPA-E's initial investment of approximately \$70 million.

While we understand that you are working within a constrained budget, we strongly believe that providing stable and sustained funding increases for both the DOE Office of Science and ARPA-E must be a priority for the Congress. At the very time that our economic competitors in China, India, South Korea, the European Union, and elsewhere are copying our approach to innovation and increasing their rate of investment in basic and energy-related research, now is not the time to reduce vital federal funding for Department of Energy research and scientific facilities so critical to our future economic growth. We therefore urge your strong support for these two agencies as you make final decisions about FY 2014 funding levels.

Sincerely,

American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society

American Society for Engineering Education

American Society of Agronomy

American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society of Plant Biologists

Applied DNA Sciences Arizona State University

Association of American Universities

Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Battelle

Binghamton University

Case Western Reserve University

Clemson University

Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC)

Columbia University

Computing Research Association

Cornell University

Cray Inc.

Crop Science Society of America

Duke University Florida State University Fusion Power Associates Geological Society of America Georgia Institute of Technology

Harvard University

IBM

Iowa State University

Jefferson Science Associates, LLC

Krell Institute

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Materials Research Society Michigan State University

National User Facility Organization Oak Ridge Associated Universities

(ORAU)

Pennsylvania State University

Princeton University Purdue University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rutgers, The State University of New

Jersey

Society for Industrial and Applied

Mathematics

Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research

Association Stanford University

Tech-X

The Ohio State University University of California System University of California, Davis University of California, San Diego

University of Chicago

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware

University of Maryland, College Park

University of North Texas University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Vanderbilt University

Washington State University
Washington University in St. Louis

West Virginia University

cc: Senator Barbara Mikulski, Chair, Senate Committee on Appropriations

Senator Richard Shelby, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Appropriations

Representative Hal Rogers, Chair, House Committee on Appropriations

Representative Nita Lowey, Ranking Member, House Committee on Appropriations

Members, Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Appropriations Development Members, House Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Appropriations Development