ASME BED Executive Committee Positions

Chairperson. The Chairperson will have served as Secretary prior to succeeding to the Chair and will serve for one year. As chair of the Executive Committee, the chairperson will oversee committee operations, run regular meetings, and interface with ASME. The Chairperson will serve as chair of the Executive Committee. *Currently held by: Dr. Alison Marsden ('21-'22); voting member.*

Secretary. The Secretary will have served as Secretary-elect for one year prior to taking office and will serve for one year. The Secretary will become Chairperson during the year following tenure as Secretary. The Secretary will keep minutes of the Executive Committee meetings, will be the corresponding secretary, and will maintain the records of the Division. *Currently held by: Dr. Shannon Stott ('21-'22); voting member.*

Secretary-elect. The secretary-elect will serve as a voting member prior to becoming Secretary and will serve for one year. The Secretary-elect will be responsible for compiling a list of Division officers and committee members, and organizing and updating committee operating manuals. Currently held by: *Dr. Alisa Morss Clyne ('21-'22); voting member.*

Past Chairperson. The Past Chairperson will have served as Chairperson the previous year and will serve for one year. The Past Chairperson will assist in nominating Society Fellows. *Currently held by: Dr. Naomi Chesler ('21-'22); voting member.*

Member-in Charge of Member Affairs. The Member-in-Charge of Member Affairs will serve for three years and will be in charge of: developing membership by recruiting new members; promoting diversity of our members; identifying member needs and interests; encouraging nominations for new ASME Fellows. The Member-in-Charge of Member Affairs will be responsible for communicating these activities to the Executive Committee. The Member-in-charge of Member affairs will work with Members-at-Large to stimulate interest in bioengineering within the student chapters of ASME and on developing tutorials and workshops in methods of engineering research and practice of use to the membership. *Currently held by: Dr. Spencer Lake ('19-'22); voting member.*

Treasurer. The Treasurer will serve as a voting member and will serve for three years. The Treasurer will monitor the finances of the Division; recommend methods to maintain or improve the financial position of the Division; initiate means by which funds may be raised for the support of the Division; report to the Executive Committee regularly on the financial position and activities of the Division; and communicate with ASME on all budget-related items, including budget projections. *Currently held by: Dr. Rafael Davalos ('20-'23); voting member.*

Member-in-Charge of Student Affairs. The Member-in-Charge of Student Affairs will serve as a voting member and will serve for three years. The Member-in-Charge of Student Affairs will: promote student membership; conduct outreach to local ASME student chapters; and encourage mentorship of student members. The Member-in-Charge of Student Affairs will also serve as an advisor to the Student Leadership Committee. The Member-in-Charge of Student Affairs will be responsible for communicating these activities to the Executive Committee. *Currently held by: Dr. Rouzbeh Amini ('20-'23); voting member.*

Members at Large. Each Member-at-Large will be a voting member and will serve for three years. The Members-at-Large will fulfill responsibilities not falling under the purview of other members of the Executive Committee, such as leading new initiatives. *Currently held by: Dr. Christine Scotti* ('19-22), Mr. Robert Hauck ('19-'23), Dr. Craig Goergen ('21-'24), and Dr. Josue Sznitman ('21-'24); voting members.

Communication and Outreach Specialist(s). Each Communication and Outreach Specialist will be a non-voting member and will serve for two years. They will fulfill responsibilities related to communication of the Division materials and announcements through social media platforms and electronic communications. This will include the generation of the annual newsletter. *Currently held by: Dr. Parisa Saboori ('21-23) and Dr. Zhenpeng Qin ('21-'23). Our student specialist is Mr. Zach Davis ('22-'23); non-voting members.*

Chair of the Student Leadership Committee. The Chair of the Student Leadership Committee is a non-voting member and is elected by ASME Bioengineering Division Students through their own electoral process and serves for one annual term. This member will provide updates on student activities, promote student membership, and advocate for student needs. *Currently held by: Mr. Bipin Tiwari ('21-'22); non-voting member.*