ASME Heat Transfer Division Q1 Newsletter 2024

INSIDE

HTD Chair Statement

Dr. Sandra Boetcher, the Chair of the Heat Transfer Division, gives a statement

SHTC 2023 Awardees

Recognition of awardees from the Summer Heat Transfer Conference 2023

ASME Journals Improve Publication Time

HTD Journal editors share improvements in review and publication time over the last 4-8 years

ASME HTD Outreach Committee

Rydge Mulford* (Chair) and Nehal Jajal

*rmulford1@udayton.edu

HTD Chair 2023-2024 Statement

- Dr. Sandra Boetcher

I am excited to take the reins as the Chair of the ASME Heat Transfer Division (HTD) in the upcoming 2023-2024 year! My gratitude goes to Brent Webb, my predecessor and past-chair, for his unwavering commitment and dedication to the division throughout the past year. The HTD Executive



Committee is eager to continue the positive momentum that has been generated post-COVID, building on the success of this year's Summer Heat Transfer Conference.

The ASME Summer Heat Transfer Conference made a triumphant return in Washington, DC, boasting record-breaking participation. A special note of gratitude to my co-chair, Dr. Ravi Annapragada, and the technical program chairs, Drs. Diana Borca Tasciuc and Dong Liu, for organizing an incredibly successful conference.

In an effort to enhance this year's conference experience, the HTD offered students an exclusive registration rate of just \$90 and Dr. Rydge Mulford spearheaded the organization of several impactful student activities. Dr. Mulford has also taken on the role as our HTD Communications and Outreach Specialist.

After serving 8 years as the Editor-in-Chief of the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer, Dr. P.S. Ayyaswamy has stepped down. Dr. Ayyaswamy improved the quality of the journal substantially by implementing many initiatives, as well as overseeing the renaming of the journal to the "ASME Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer." After an exhaustive search, Dr. Tim Fisher has been appointed the next Editor-in-Chief of the ASME Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer." Exciting progress of the ASME-sponsored HTD journals are detailed on the next page of this newsletter.

HTD LinkedIn Group Available

In an effort to streamline the dissemination of Division news, the HTD Outreach Committee has established a LinkedIn Group for the division. It can be accessed at the following link: <u>https://www.linkedin.com/groups/14303327/</u>

Please consider joining the group to receive the latest news and updates. The group is administered by the HTD Outreach Committee and April Tone, ASME liaison.



SHTC 2023 Awardees

Max Jacob Award was awarded to Dr. G.P. Peterson, President emeritus and Regents Professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research interests have focused on fundamental aspects of phasechange heat transfer, including in reduced-gravity environments and micro/nanochannel. (pictured second from right)

Donald Q. Kern Award was awarded to Dr. Hongbin Ma, Chair, Curators' Distinguished Professor, & Glen A. Barton Professor, in the Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, and the director of MERC in the College of Engineering at the University of Missouri (MU). He has conducted active research in the fields of phase-change heat transfer, heat pipes, ejector refrigeration, and thermal management. (pictured on right)

HTD Boelter-McAdams Prize was awarded to Dr. S. Ravi Annapragada, Global Engineering Sustainability Leader at Carrier Corporation. He is responsible for defining and driving engineering strategy and venture investments to meet Carrier's sustainability goals. He has authored more than 40 peer reviewed papers in the area of alternate heat pumps, solid-state cooling, and heat transfer. (pictured on left)

ASME Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal (2023) was awarded to Dr. Akanksha Menon, assistant professor in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering. The award is presented for demonstrating outstanding achievement in the field of mechanical engineering, within 10 years of graduation with a bachelor's degree. (second from left)

James V. Beck Memorial Symposium Best Paper was awarded to authors Gabriela L. Menegaz, Cleudmar A. Araujo, Gilmar Guimaraes for their paper "Study of Inclusion Detection using Bayesian Inference for an Application in Breast Tumors".

ASME HTD Journals Significantly Improve Publication Time

The HTD currently maintains two ASME journals, The Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer (Editor: Dr. Tim Fisher) as well as the Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications (Editor: Dr. Srinath Ekkad). Both editors recently shared insight regarding significant improvements in the time from manuscript submission to publication. The time from submission to publication of the Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications has dropped from 170 days to 130 days in the past 4 years. Further, the time from submission to Technical Editor (TE) decision is now 56 days. The current journal Impact Factor of 2.1 has also more than doubled in the past five years. Dr. Ekkad attributes the success to excellent Associate Editors, his own improved response time and improved reviewer response time.

Likewise, the Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer

has seen rapid improvement in time to publication, taking only 1.5 months from submission to TE decision, down from 5.5 months in 2015. Likewise, the average paper now spends only 50 days in first review. Regarding the journal, Dr. Fisher said "The Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer is a historical flagship of the thermal sciences community, and we are endeavoring each day to make the journal the preferred forum for the best research in the field. Our processing statistics bear out this effort, as the journal's average processing times are now quite short and consistent with what researchers in our community deserve and expect."