SMASIS Logo

SMASIS

Conference on Smart Materials, Adaptive
Structures and Intelligent Systems

Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, Snowbird, Utah

CONFERENCE
September 18-20, 2017

EXHIBITION
September 19, 2017

About - Organizing Committee

 

 
Ken Loh

Ken Loh

General Chair

UC San Diego

La Jolla, CA

kenloh@eng.ucsd.edu

 
 
Billy Oates

Billy Oates

Technical Chair

Florida State University

Tallahassee, FL

woates@eng.fsu.edu

 
 
Mohammad Daqaq

Mohammad Daqaq

Technical Co-Chair

Clemson University

Clemson, SC

MDAQAQ@clemson.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM 1: MULTIFUNCTIONAL MATERIALS

 
Gary Seidel

Gary Seidel

Chair

Virginia Tech

Blacksburg, VA

gary.seidel@vt.edu

 
 
Constantin Ciocanel

Constantin Ciocanel

Co-Chair

Northern Arizona University

Flagstaff, AZ

Constantin.Ciocanel@nau.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM 2: MECHANICS AND BEHAVIOR OF ACTIVE MATERIALS

 
Jayasimha Atulasimha

Jayasimha Atulasimha

Chair

Virginia Commonwealth University

Richmond, VA

jatulasimha@vcu.edu

 
 
Darren Hartl

Darren Hartl

Co-Chair

Texas A&M University

College Station, TX

darren.hartl@tamu.edu

 
 
Nakhiah Goulbourne

Nakhiah Goulbourne

Co-Chair

University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, MI

ngbourne@umich.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM 3: Modeling, Simulation and Control of Adaptive Systems

 
Nima Mahmoodi

Nima Mahmoodi

Chair

The University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa, AL

nmahmoodi@eng.ua.edu

 
 
Manuel Collet

Manuel Collet

Co-Chair

CNRS

Paris, France

manuel.collet@univ-fcomte.fr

 
 
Wael Zaki

Wael Zaki

Co-Chair

Khalifa University

Abu Dhabi, UAE

wael.zaki@kustar.ac.ae

 

SYMPOSIUM 4: INTEGRATED SYSTEM DESIGN AND IMPLEMENTATION

 
Rich Beblo

Rich Beblo

Chair

University of Dayton Research Institute

Dayton, OH

richard.beblo.ctr@us.af.mil

 
 
Jay Gao

Jay Gao

Co-Chair

General Motors

Detroit, MI

jay.gao@gm.com

 
 
Andres Arrieta

Andres Arrieta

Co-Chair

Purdue University

West Lafayette, IN

aarrieta@purdue.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM 5: STRUCTURAL HEALTH MONITORING

 
Donghyeon Ryu

Donghyeon Ryu

Chair

New Mexico Tech

Socorro, NM

donghyeon.ryu@nmt.edu

 
 
Ya Wang

Ya Wang

Co-Chair

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY

ya.s.wang@stonybrook.edu

 
 
Hae Young Noh

Hae Young Noh

Co-Chair

Carnegie Mellon University

Pittsburgh, PA

noh@cmu.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM 6: BIO-INSPIRED SMART MATERIALS AND SYSTEMS

 
Eric Freeman

Eric Freeman

Chair

University of Georgia

Athens, GA

ecfreema@uga.edu

 
 
Yash Tummala

Yash Tummala

Co-Chair

S&C Electric Company

Chicago, IL

Yashwanth.tummala@gmail.com

 
 
Jovana Jovanova

Jovana Jovanova

Co-Chair

Ss. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, Macedonia

Skopje, Macedonia

jovanask@gmail.com

 

SYMPOSIUM 7: ENERGY HARVESTING

 
Amin Karami

Amin Karami

Chair

University at Buffalo, SUNY

Buffalo, NY

karami@buffalo.edu

 
 
Steve Anton

Steve Anton

Co-Chair

Tennessee Tech

Cookeville, TN

santon@tntech.edu

 
 
Mostafa Nouh

Mostafa Nouh

Co-Chair

University at Buffalo, SUNY

Buffalo, NY

mnouh@buffalo.edu

 

SYMPOSIUM X: EMERGING TECHNOLOGIES

 
Ken Loh

Ken Loh

Chair

UC San Diego

La Jolla, CA

kenloh@eng.ucsd.edu

 
 
Billy Oates

Billy Oates

Co-Chair

Florida State University

Tallahassee, FL

woates@eng.fsu.edu

 
 
Mohammad Daqaq

Mohammad Daqaq

Co-Chair

Clemson University

Clemson, SC

MDAQAQ@clemson.edu

 

STUDENT AND YOUNG PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

 
Lingyu Yu

Lingyu Yu

Chair (2016 Best Student Paper Competition)

University of South Carolina

Columbia, SC

yu3@cec.sc.edu

 
 
Mostafa Nouh

Mostafa Nouh

Co-Chair (2016 Best Student Paper Competition)

University at Buffalo, SUNY

Buffalo, NY

mnouh@buffalo.edu

 
 
Julianna Abel

Julianna Abel

Co-Chair (Hardware Competition)

University of Minnesota

Minneapolis, MN

jabel@umn.edu

 
 
TECHNICAL COMMITTEES

ACTIVE MATERIALS AND/OR MULTIFUNCTIONAL MATERIALS

 
Hani E. Naguib

Hani E. Naguib

Chair

naguib@mie.utoronto.ca

 
 
William Oates

William Oates

Co-chair

woates@eng.fsu.edu

 

ADAPTIVE SYSTEMS DYNAMICS AND CONTROLS

 
Jeong-Hoi Koo

Jeong-Hoi Koo

Chair

Miami University

koo@miamioh.edu

 
 
James Gibert

James Gibert

Co-Chair

Purdue University

jgibert@purdue.edu

 

STRUCTURAL HEALTH MONITORING

 
Donghyeon Ryu

Donghyeon Ryu

Chair

New Mexico Tech

Socorro, NM

donghyeon.ryu@nmt.edu

 
 
Ya Wang

Ya Wang

Co-Chair

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY, USA

ya.s.wang@stonybrook.edu

 

ACTIVE MATERIAL TECHNOLOGY AND INTEGRATED SYSTEMS

 
Phillip Evans

Phillip Evans

Chair

phillip.evans@ll.mit.edu

 
 
Chai Hutapea

Chai Hutapea

Co-chair

 

BIO-INSPIRED STRUCTURES AND SYSTEMS

 
Vishnu Baba Sundaresan

Vishnu-Sundaresan

Chair

sundaresan.19@osu.edu

 
 
Stephen A. Sarles

Stephen A. Sarles

Co-Chair

ssarles@utk.edu

 

 

ENERGY HARVESTING

 
Matthew Bryant

Matthew Bryant

Chair

North Carolina State University

mbryant@ncsu.edu

 
 
Ryan Harne

Ryan Harne

Co-Chair

The Ohio State University

harne.3@osu.edu

 

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

 
Ryan Harne

Diann Brei

 
 
Ryan Harne

Greg Carman

 
 
Ryan Harne

Inderjit Chopra

 
 
Ryan Harne

Kon-Well Wang

 
 
Ryan Harne

Alison Flatau

 
 
Ryan Harne

Dan Inman

 
 
Ryan Harne

Nancy Johnson

 
 
Ryan Harne

Jay Kudva

 
 
Ryan Harne

Dimitris Lagoudas

 
 
Ryan Harne

Chris Lynch

 
 
Ryan Harne

Anna McGowan

 
 
Ryan Harne

Roger Ohayon

 
 
Ryan Harne

Greg Reich

 
 
Ryan Harne

Janet Sater

 
 
Ryan Harne

Sergio Lucato

 
 
Ryan Harne

Stefan Seelecke

 
 
Ryan Harne

Ralph Smith