NOTE: This is IMECE 2017
check out IMECE 2018



International Mechanical Engineering
Congress & Exposition®

Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, Florida

November 3-9, 2017
November 5-8, 2017

Awards - Honors Assembly


Honors Assembly

ASME Medal

Zdenek Bazant

Professor Zdeněk P. Bažant, Ph.D., Fellow
Northwestern University

For developing a statistical theory of the strength and lifetime of quasibrittle structures of random material properties, verifying it with experimental evidence and demonstrating its relevance to structural safety; and for formulating a kinetic energy release theory for material comminution into particles of random sizes under extreme strain rates


Honorary Member

Ramesh K. Agarwal

Professor Ramesh K. Agarwal, Ph.D., Fellow
Washington University

For pioneering high-impact research contributions to computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer; for innovative contributions to mechanical engineering education; and for meritorious service to the mechanical engineering profession


Honorary Member

John W. Cipolla

Professor John W. Cipolla, Ph.D., Fellow
Northeastern University

For distinguished contributions to the mechanical engineering profession, particularly for expanding the scientific knowledge of thermofluids, emphasizing mathematics-based education, and enhancing the value of ASME through dedicated service to the Center of Education


Honorary Member

Michael F. Modest

Professor Michael F. Modest, Ph.D., Fellow
University of California, Merced

For pioneering and impactful scholarly contributions in the fields of radiative heat transfer and laser machining of ceramics; for excellence in educating and training future generations of engineers and scientists; and for dedicated service to the profession


Melvin R. Green Codes & Standards Medal

Paul D. Edward

Paul D. Edwards, Fellow
WECTEC Global Project Services Inc.

For championing ASME Standards and Certification efforts, particularly the development of new products including the CA-1 Standard–Conformity Assessment Requirements and the Parts Certification Program; and for outstanding contributions through service on numerous ASME technical and conformity assessment committees


Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award

Evelyn N. Wang

Professor Evelyn N. Wang, Ph.D., Fellow
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For outstanding achievements in mechanical engineering within 10 to 20 years following graduation


Ralph Coats Roe Medal

 Adrian Bejan

Professor Adrian Bejan, Ph.D., Fellow
Duke University

For permanent contributions to the public appreciation of the pivotal role of engineering in an advanced society through outstanding accomplishments as an engineering scientist and educator, renowned communicator and prolific writer


Hoover Medal

John Staehlin

John Staehlin, P.E., Member
Volunteers for Medical Engineering

For accomplishments as an engineer, inventor, and the founder of the not-for-profit volunteer organization, "Volunteers for Medical Engineering," that creates special-purpose assistive devices to enable physically-disabled persons to achieve greater independence and improve their quality of life