international conference on nanochannels, microchannels,
and minichannels

hyatt regency cambridge, cambridge, ma

august 27-30, 2017

Speakers - Plenary Speakers


Nadine Aubry

Dr. Nadine Aubry is University Distinguished Professor and Dean of the College of Engineering at Northeastern University. She has made research contributions to fluid mechanics, including low-dimensional models of turbulent flows and novel microfluidics methods and devices. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and was recently inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). She is a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the American Physical Society (APS), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). She currently serves as President of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM), Section Secretary of the NAE mechanical engineering section, Chair of the NAE's Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) committee, and member of the International Council for Science (ICSU), the NAE committee on Center-Based Engineering Research (CBER), the NAE Membership Policy Committee (MPC), the NAE Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education selection committee, the National Academy of Science (NAS) U.S.National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (USNC/TAM), and the AAAS Engineering Section executive committee. Former leadership positions include Chair of USNC/TAM and Chair of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics (DFD). She is the recipient of the 2017 G.I. Taylor Medal of the Society of Engineering Science (SES). Prior to joining Northeastern, she was Head of Mechanical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University where she had been named Lane Distinguished Professorship and University Professor. She grew up in France and holds a DiplĂ´me d’Ingenieur from Institut National Polytechnique Institute (INP) Grenoble, a Diplome d'Etudes Approfondies (D.E.A.) from UniversitĂ© Grenoble Alpes (both in Mechanical Engineering in 1984), and a Ph.D. from the Sibley School of Mechanical andAerospace Engineering at Cornell University in 1987.

Klavs F. Jensen

Klavs F. Jensen is Warren K. Lewis Professor in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. From 2007 – July 2015 he was the Head of the Department of Chemical Engineering. He received his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His research interests revolve around reaction and separation techniques for on-demand multistep synthesis, as well as microsystems biological discovery and manipulation. Catalysis, chemical kinetics and transport phenomena are also topics of interest along with development of simulation approaches for reactive chemical and biological systems. He is the co-author of 390 refereed journal and 175 conference publications as well as 8 edited volumes and 45 US patents. He chairs the Editorial Board for the new Royal Society of Chemistry Journal Reaction Chemistry and Engineering. He serves on advisory boards to universities, companies, professional societies, and governments. He is the recipient of several awards, including a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Grant, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Allan P. Colburn, Charles C.M. Stine, R.H. Wilhelm, W.H. Walker, and Founders Awards of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. He received the inaugural IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry in 2012. Professor Jensen is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Science. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Chemical Society, and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Joel Plawsky Professor & Head
Isermann Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Joel Plawsky is Professor and the Head of the Howard P. Isermann Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI). He received his BS and MSCEP and ScD in chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan and MIT respectively. Joel joined RPI as an Assistant Professor in 1988 following a stint in industry at Corning, Inc. He was a NASA Faculty Fellow in 1999 and 2000, and also spent 6 months at Marshall Space Flight Center in 2003, where he assisted in the investigation of the root cause of the disintegration of the Columbia Space Shuttle, and developed repair materials to help prevent another such loss in the future. He has also been a Visiting Professor of Chemical Engineering at Delft University of Technology in The Netherlands. His broad areas of research include interfacial and transport phenomena, dielectric breakdown in gate, interconnect and LED materials, and novel optical and composite interface materials. Joel has flown seven experiments aboard the Space Shuttle and International Space Station investigating the fluid dynamics and heat transfer associated with wickless heat pipes and the growth and development of biofilms in microgravity. He is the author of the book "Transport Phenomena Fundamentals – Third Edition" published by CRC Press and Dielectric Breakdown in Gigascale Electronics: Time Dependent Failure Mechanisms published by Springer. Joel is a Fellow of both the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.