Online Ballot Officer Biographies

The 2015 Nominating Committee has selected the following members for Society Office with terms starting in June 2016. Selected nominees will be voted on in the fall via an online ballot. Please watch for an email with the announcement for the online ballot.

President - Nominee

K. Keith Roe

K. Keith Roe, P.E., (ASME Fellow) has been selected as the president-nominee of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)for the 2016-2017 term of office.  Roe has been an active member of the Society for more than 40 years.

Throughout his distinguished association with ASME, Roe has held a number of leadership positions including a three-year term as a member of the Board of Governors (2008-2011), founding chair (1987-1996) and a current member of the ASME Industry Advisory Board, a member and chair of the ASME Foundation's Board of Directors (1994-2007), where he currently serves as chair emeritus, and served as chair of the Board of Trustees (1998-2008). His committee work included tenures on the Committee on Governance, Committee on Investments, and the Committee on Planning and Organization among others.

Roe recently retired as chairman, president and chief executive officer of Burns and Roe Enterprises, Inc., a company that his grandfather Ralph Coats Roe founded in 1932.  Keith Roe joined the Oradell, NJ-based company in 1974 as a design engineer. At his retirement, Burns and Roe Enterprises was one of the leading power engineering, procurement, construction services firms in the world.

Among his many professional associations, Roe is a member of the National Academy of Construction, the Nuclear Energy Institute, the National Society of Professional Engineers, and is the founding co-chair of the board of directors of FIATECH, a non-profit construction industry consortium. He is a member of the United States Energy Association, the American Nuclear Society, and the American Society of Civil Engineers. 

Roe is the recipient of many honors and recognitions including the ASME Dedicated Service Award and the prestigious ASME President's Award. He is a recipient of the Society's Outstanding Leadership Award and the ASME Foundation Legacy Award.  

Roe received his Bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from Princeton University and earned his Master's degree and Engineer's degree in nuclear engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass. He also attended the Harvard Business School, Program for Management Development.  

In 1969, Roe received his commission from the U.S. Navy Officer Candidate School, Newport, RI, and served in active duty in the U.S. Navy (1968-1974) before being honorably discharged with the rank of lieutenant.

Roe also holds the distinction of being the first ASME president whose father was also president of the Society. Kenneth Andrew Roe served as the Society's 90th president during the 1971-1972 term.

Roe currently serves as a consultant in the energy field. He and his wife reside in Greenwich, Conn.


Board of Governors - Nominee

Mahantesh Hiremath

Mahantesh S. Hiremath, Ph.D., P.E., (ASME Fellow) currently serves as Technical Consultant for Mission Assurance at SSL, Space Systems Loral, in Palo Alto, CA. Earlier he served as Deployment Subsystems Manager and Principal Engineer in Spacecraft Design/Analysis/Test Division, also at SSL. In the past, he held technical positions at Northrop Grumman, ARES Corporation, Stellar Solutions, Serata Geo-mechanics and the Indian Railways. He also teaches as an adjunct faculty member of Mechanical Engineering at the Santa Clara University.  He has over 25 years of industry experience in various fields of engineering. He has designed and analyzed complex systems in four different environments – deep underground strategic petroleum reserves, off-shore oil platforms, on-ground bridges and high-rise buildings and geosynchronous satellites.

He was the ASME Leader of the North American Pacific District (D), from 2009 to 2012 and served as the Chair of the Santa Clara Valley Section for two years.

In September 2013, he was selected through a nationwide search as the ASME Congressional Fellow to serve as Technical Advisor to the US Congress. He chose to work on the Science, Space and Technology Committee of the US House of Representatives.
He received his Bachelor's and Master's degree in Civil Engineering from University of Poona in India and received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Structural Dynamics from The Ohio State University. Dr. Hiremath also earned a Certificate in Systems Engineering from Stanford University.


Karen Ohland

Karen J. Ohland, (ASME Member) is currently the Associate Director for Finance and Operations at the Princeton University Art Museum.  Before joining Princeton University in 2012, she was at The Metropolitan Museum of Art for 13 years, most recently as the Senior Administrator for Education and Concerts & Lectures.  Prior to working in non-profit museum administration, her career was in research and laboratory management, working in industry, academia, and government; most recently as Research Manager for Howmedica, an orthopedic implant manufacturer.

Ms. Ohland has been a member of ASME for over 30 years where she currently leads the Group Engagement Transition Team. She is the past Senior Vice President of the Knowledge and Community Sector (2012-2014) and past Vice President for Financial Operations of the Sector (2010-2012).  She is a member of Tau Beta Pi, the American Society of Engineering Education, the Orthopedic Research Society, and the American Society of Biomechanics, as well as the American Alliance of Museums.  She serves on the Engineering Advisory Council of her alma mater, Swarthmore College and is a judge for the NYC FIRST Robotics Regional Championships. 

She received a B.S. in Engineering and a B.A. in Biology from Swarthmore College and holds a Master's degree in Anatomy from the University of Chicago.


William Wepfer

William J. Wepfer, Ph.D., (ASME Fellow) joined Georgia Tech in 1980 as an assistant professor of mechanical engineering and progressed through the ranks to become a full professor in 1993.  From 1989 through 2002, he served as Associate Chair for Graduate Studies in the Woodruff School.  In 2002, he became Vice Provost, Distance Learning and Professional Education with responsibilities for professional education, distance-delivered credit programs, the English as a Second language program, and operation of Georgia Tech's Global Learning Center.  In January 2008, Dr. Wepfer became the Eugene C. Gwaltney, Jr. Chair of the Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, the largest mechanical engineering program in the US. His research interests are in thermal systems, heat transfer, and thermodynamics, with particular emphasis on energy systems. 

Dr. Wepfer is also a Fellow of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).  He has served ASME as Chair of the Atlanta Section (1989-1990), as Vice President of Education (2009-2012), and as Senior Vice-President of Public Affairs and Outreach (2012-2015). He is on the Executive Committee of the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of ABET and currently serves as Chair of the Engineering Accreditation Commission for the 2014-2015 accreditation cycle.  A member of Tau Beta Pi, he has previously served on departmental advisory boards at Pennsylvania State University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Marquette University. 

He received a B.S. from Marquette University, an M.S. from Stanford University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.