Members’ and Students’ Luncheon to Feature Awards Presentation

Oct. 20, 2017

(Left to right) Charles T. Main Student Leadership Award winners Gemma Iruegas and Jithu Paulose. Iruegas will receive the Gold Medal, while Paulose will receive the Silver Medal.

If you’re planning on attending the ASME 2017 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition next month in Tampa, Fla., be sure not to miss one of the highlights of the conference: the Member’s and Students’ Luncheon. Nine ASME members and student members will be recognized for their contributions to society and ASME during the luncheon, which will be held on Sunday, Nov. 5, from 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Two members will be honored with Charles T. Main Student Leadership Awards during the luncheon. Established in 1919, the award recognizes, at the Society-wide level, an undergraduate ASME student member whose leadership and service qualities have contributed to the programs and operations of a student section for a period of more than one year. The award program was expanded in 1983 to include a second-place Silver Medal in addition to the established Gold Medal.

ASME student member Gemma Iruegas, an student at Universidad Abierta y a Distancia de México, will receive the Gold Medal in recognition of her dedicated service as founder and chair of the ASME Student Section at the Aguascalientes campus of Universidad Panamericana in Mexico and as student regional chair for Mexico; for supporting various ASME startup sections; and for promoting ASME as well as SOMIM, the Mexican Society of Mechanical Engineering.

Jithu Paulose, an ASME member and an intern at Thomson Engineering Works in Kochi, Kerala in India, will receive the Silver Medal in acknowledgement of his contributions to ASME including serving as secretary, convenor and chair of the student section at the Federal Institute of Science and Technology, and assisting more than 25 student sections as zonal representative for the Student District Operating Board, India/Asia-Pacific.

Katie Correll, recipient of the 2017 Old Guard Early Career Award.

Katie Correll, E.I.T., an ASME member and an associate engineer at Universal Creative in Orlando, Fla., will be presented the Old Guard Early Career Award at the event. Established in 1994, the Old Guard Early Career Award aims to help young engineers bridge the gap between college and professional life by providing encouragement for graduating student members to upgrade their memberships and become actively involved in the work of the Society. Correll, who currently develops animatronics for Universal Creative, is being honored for inspiring young people to explore engineering as a profession through her ASME service at the local and enterprise levels, and for her personal growth in the entertainment industry, public advocacy and community service.

Nadir Yilmaz will be presented with the Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award at the luncheon.

ASME Fellow Nadir Yilmaz, Ph.D., P.E., a professor and the department chair of mechanical engineering at Howard University in Washington, D.C., and consultant, will receive the Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award. Established in 1990 as the Faculty Advisor Award, the honor is given to an ASME member who is a current or former student section advisor whose leadership and service qualities have contributed to the programs and operations of an ASME student section for at least three years. Dr. Yilmaz is being acknowledged for outstanding service as advisor for the ASME student section at the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, and for promoting the Society among students and young engineers, which resulted in dramatically improved ASME activities in the local community.

Shannon K. Yee, this year’s winner of the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal.

ASME member Shannon K. Yee, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, will be this year’s recipient of the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal. The award, which was established in 1938 by Pi Tau Sigma in coordination with ASME, honors outstanding achievements by a young engineering graduate in mechanical engineering within 10 years of receiving his or her baccalaureate degree. Dr. Yee, who holds a dual appointment as a visiting scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, is recognized for outstanding achievements in mechanical engineering.

The 2018 Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award will be bestowed upon Jian Cao at the Member’s and Students’ Luncheon.

Jian Cao, Ph.D., Cardiss Collins professor and associate vice president for research at Northwestern University, will be presented with the Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award during the Members’ and Students’ Luncheon. Established in 1944 to pay tribute to one of the founders of Pi Tau Sigma, the award is bestowed upon an engineering graduate who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering for 20 years or more following graduation. Dr. Cao, an ASME Fellow whose major research interests include innovative manufacturing processes and systems, is the founding director of the Northwestern Initiative on Manufacturing Science and Innovation and the founding technical editor of ASME’s Journal of Micro- and Nano-Manufacturing.

(Left to right) Alan Williams, recipient of the 2017 George Westinghouse Gold Medal, and Frederic Villeneuve, winner of the 2017 George Westinghouse Silver Medal.

ASME members Alan Williams, Ph.D., and Frederic Villeneuve, Ph.D., will both receive George Westinghouse Medals at this year’s banquet. The awards recognize eminent achievement or distinguished service in the power field of mechanical engineering to perpetuate the value of the rich contribution to power development made by George Westinghouse, Honorary Member and 29th president of the Society. The Gold Medal was established in 1952 and the Silver Medal was introduced in 1971.

Dr. Williams, research professor in the School of Chemical and Process Engineering at the University of Leeds in the United Kingdom, will receive the Gold Medal for his novel research contributions to the fundamental understanding of the formation and reduction of pollutants in fossil fuel flames, which has resulted in cleaner burning with enhanced efficiency; and for providing enriched training and education to engineers, and outstanding service to industry and government.

Dr. Villeneuve, head of Digital Innovations at Siemens Power and Gas, will receive the Silver Medal for his outstanding contributions to the development and application of advanced design methods for gas turbines. At Siemens, he is currently heading the development of a global team focused on improving gas turbine efficiency and design cycle time by developing system gas turbine design environments.

Austin P. Kraus will be given the Arthur L. Williston Medal for his paper “Safe Growth of Autonomous Systems Through International Regulation.”

Austin P. Kraus, a graduate student at the University of Kansas, will be presented with the Arthur L. Williston Medal. Established in 1954, the award recognizes the best paper submitted on a subject chosen to challenge the abilities of engineering students. The annual competition is open to ASME members or student members who received a baccalaureate degree within two years of the submission deadline. Kraus, who is pursuing a master’s degree in homeland security law and policy, will receive the award for his paper, “Safe Growth of Autonomous Systems Through International Regulation.”

The Members’ and Students’ Luncheon on Nov. 5 is a ticketed event and open to all IMECE attendees. Tickets can be purchased online or at the IMECE registration counter. For more information on the ASME 2017 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, visit