Your Invitation to the 2018 Honors Assembly

Nov. 9, 2018

On Monday, Nov. 12 at 6:30 p.m., ASME will present its 2018 Honors Assembly, held in conjunction with the Society's International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE) in Pittsburgh, Pa. This impressive and dramatic audiovisual experience will be one IMECE event you won't want to miss. 

I am pleased to announce the following recipients to be recognized for their accomplishments at this year's Assembly: the Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal to Richard Barnes; the M. Eugene Merchant Medal of ASME/SME to Kamlakar Rajurkar; the Ralph Coats Roe Medal to Gwynne Shotwell; the Nancy DeLoye Fitzroy and Roland V. Fitzroy Medal to Ivar Giaever; ASME Honorary Membership to Portonovo Ayyaswamy, Alan Needleman, Robert Nerem and Frank Talke; and the ASME Medal to Thomas J.R. Hughes.

The Honors Assembly is a free IMECE event and everyone is invited to attend. 

A reception for all the Honors Assembly attendees will be held at 5:30 p.m. preceding the Honors Assembly. During this time, you will have the opportunity to personally meet and congratulate the award recipients, network with colleagues, meet old friends and make new acquaintances.

On behalf of the ASME Committee on Honors, I hope you will join us for this special evening.


Yildiz Bayazitoglu
Chair, ASME Committee on Honors
H.S. Cameron Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Professor of Materials Science and Nanoengineering
Rice University
Houston, Texas