ASME to Honor Ten Individuals for Engineering Achievement

NEW YORK, Oct. 22, 2010 – In a celebration of engineering achievement, ASME will pay tribute to ten individuals for their exemplary contributions to engineering and their dedicated service to the profession at the annual ASME Honors Assembly.

The 2010 Honors Assembly will be held on Nov. 15, at 5:30 p.m., at the Vancouver Convention and Exposition Centre in British Columbia, Canada. The program will spotlight leaders who the Society has recognized for their excellence in engineering achievement, innovation and contributions to ASME and the profession.

This year’s honorees represent diverse areas of the multidisciplinary engineering profession, including Gary L. Cowger, who designed advanced systems to improve the productivity and efficiency of automobile manufacturing while serving for 45 years at General Motors Corporation.

Honorees also include John E. Abele, the founding chairman of the leading biotechnology firm Boston Scientific Corp., who has lectured extensively on the economic and sociopolitical trends impacting healthcare today. And Charles M. Vest, Ph.D., president of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and president emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, who has championed the public’s understanding and appreciation of the engineer’s worth to society. 

The Honors Assembly, an inspiring multimedia event, also will recognize dedication to the goals and programs of ASME.  The 2010 assembly will include Harry Armen, Ph.D., former chief technologist at Northrop Grumman Corporation who served as ASME president in 2004-2005, and June Ling, the Society’s current associate executive director of Standards & Certification.  The 2010 honorees are:   

John E. Abele
Former Chairman, Boston Scientific Corp.
Award: ASME Medal

William J. Adams
Engineering Consultant
Award: Honorary Membership

Harry Armen
Former Chief Technologist, Northrop Grumman Corp.
Award: Honorary Membership

Thomas W. Asmus
Former Senior Research Executive, DaimlerChrysler Corp.
Award: Soichiro Honda Medal

Gary L. Cowger
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, GLC Ventures, LLC
Award: M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal

June Ling
Associate Executive Director, ASME Standards & Certification
Award: Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal

Keith Thayer
President, Garuda U.S., Inc.
Award: Honorary Membership

Charles M. Vest
President, U.S. National Academy of Engineering
Award: Ralph Coats Roe Medal

David N. Wormley
Harold and Inge Marcus Dean of Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University
Award: Honorary Membership

Sam Y. Zamrik
Professor Emeritus of Engineering Mechanics, The Pennsylvania State University
Award: Honorary Membership

The ASME honors and awards program is funded through The ASME Foundation by individual awards and endowment funds.

The Honors Assembly is held in conjunction with the 2010 ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition.  The 2010 Congress will include technical sessions and presentations on aerospace technology, transportation, bioengineering, energy and the environment, fluid mechanics, and other subjects.  The conference runs Nov. 12-18.

About ASME
ASME helps the global engineering community develop solutions to real world challenges. Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is a not-for-profit professional organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines, while promoting the vital role of the engineer in society. ASME codes and standards, publications, conferences, continuing education and professional development programs provide a foundation for advancing technical knowledge and a safer world.