Frederick P. Smarro Award

ASME Unit:   Plant Engineering & Maintenance Division (PEMD)
Date Established:   1987
Achievement:   Significant contribution to the discipline and practice of plant maintenance/engineering
Limitations:   B.S. in engineering (4 years accredited in Institution or non-domestic equivalent) and current/recent practice in the environment in which accomplishments are considered noteworthy.
Nomination Deadline:   5/1
Form of Award:   Framed certificate, $1,000 Honorarium, and travel support ($800.00 maximum) to award ceremony.
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Plant Engineering & Maintenance Division
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   Plant Engineering and Maintenance Division (PEM) Executive Committee
Selecting Process:   Nominees are expected to do the following: Fill out information data sheet, phone for personal interview with Executive Committee Member, write a one to six page newsletter arcticle on a subject of interest
Funding:   Reed Exhibition Companies provide support for honorarium and travel.
Date Created:   11/9/2000
Date Modified:   5/6/2009
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Frederick P. Smarro Award

1994 - Wayne A. Vaughn, Harley Davidson Motor Co Inc.
1996 - William Gruber, The Nestle Company
1997 - Bill Maggard, International Paper
1998 - Keith Mobley, Integrated Systems Inc.
1999 - Heinz Bloch, Process Machinery Consulting
2000 - Donald E. Bently, Bently Nevada Corp.
2000 - Charles L. Bailey
2001 - Rex M. Gallaher, U.S. Postal Service