Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics

The Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics is given in recognition of eminent achievement and extraordinary merit in the field of noise control and acoustics. The achievement must include useful applications of the principles of noise control and acoustics to the art and science of mechanical engineering.

The medal, established in 1987, honors Dr. Per Bruel who pioneered the development of sophisticated noise and vibration measuring and processing equipment.

Form of Award: $1000, Vermeil Medal, Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Noise Control and Acoustics Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Send To: Per Bruel Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: J. Vipperman
Phone Number: 412-624-1643
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1989 K. Uno Ingard 2002 Ira Dyer
1990 Lothar Cremer 2003 David Feit
1991 Alan Powell 2004 Leo L. Beranek
1992 Miguel C. Junger 2005 Adnan Akay
1993 David Crighton 2006 Cyril M. Harris
1994 Eric E. Ungar 2007 Jerry H. Ginsberg
1995 Allan D. Pierce 2009 Earl G. Williams
1996 Maurice M. Sevik 2011 Mardi C. Hastings
1997 John E. Ffowcs Williams 2012 Theodore M. Farabee
2000 Michael S. Howe 2013 Richard H. Lyon
2001 Gary H. Koopmann 2014 Andrew N. Norris