2017-2018 Federal Fellows

Meet ASME’s 2017-2018 Fellows!


2016-2018 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellows: Manufacturing USA

Dr. Yuebin Guo - 2017-2018 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellow
Sponsored by: AMNPO


Dr. Yuebin Guo is a 2018-2019 ASME Foundation Swanson Fellow serving at Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office hosted by NIST at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, MD. Dr. Guo will begin his fellowship on Dec. 1, 2017.

Dr. Guo’s recently served as a Professor and Director of the Consortium of Surface Integrity & Functionality at the University of Alabama’s Department of Mechanical Engineer. Prior to this he spent a year as a Humboldt Visiting Professor (Senior Humboldt Fellow) at the WZL - Lab. of Machine Tools and Production Engineering Fraunhofer IPT (Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology) RWTH Aachen University, Germany.

His areas of research include integrated computational, manufacturing & materials engineering, laser additive manufacturing, precision machining, and hybrid additive-subtractive manufacturing.

Dr. Guo has a Ph.D. from Purdue University with a focus on manufacturing, materials, and mechanics and his M. Eng. from the University of California, Berkeley. M.S. from Tsinghua University, China and his B.S. from Shandong University of Technology, China.

2016-2017 Federal Government Fellowships (Executive And/or Legislative Branch)

Dr. Andrew Bicos - 2017 ASME Congressional Fellow
Sponsored by: ASME Foundation/ASME Government Relations

Dr. Andrew Bicos began serving as an ASME Congressional Fellow in the office of the Honorable Tom Reed (R-NY) in July 2017.  He is director of Enterprise Flight Technology in the Office of the CTO at Boeing and Chief Engineer of Aeromechanics Technology in Boeing Research & Technology.  He is responsible for developing the enterprise strategy for all flight sciences R&D at Boeing and managing the portfolio of activities that develop and transition technologies and processes into Boeing’s wide array of products.  In his role as chief engineer he is responsible for the technical integrity of the capabilities delivered by the Aeromechanics Technology research organization to the business units.  Dr. Bicos has held positions on the ASME Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Technical Committee and is a former chairman of the ASME Aerospace Division.  He is the former Chair of the ASME Industry Advisory Board and Member of the ASME NASA R&T Task Force.


Dr. Urmila Ghia - 2018 ASME Congressional Fellow
Sponsored by: ASME Government Relations, the ASME Petroleum Division and the ASME Foundation

Dr. Urmila Ghia is a 2018 ASME Congressional Fellow, with a focus on energy and STEM education policy. She began serving in the office of Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (D-WA) in January 2018. She has served on the Engineering faculty of the University of Cincinnati (UC) since 1972, in various capacities including Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, and Department Head for Mechanical, Industrial and Nuclear Engineering. Her research interests are in energy applications of fluid dynamics, with over 200 publications. For ASME, Urmila has served as Associate Editor of the Journal of Fluids Engineering, chaired the Fluids Engineering Division and the Congress Steering Committee, and currently serves on the Codes and Standards Committee PTC61.  She has received YWCA’s Career Woman of Achievement Award, the University’s Award for Distinguished Scientific Research, Outstanding Faculty-Student Relations, and the Faculty Career Award.  She chairs the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program at UC.  A highlight activity of WISE is the Research Experience for Women Undergraduates (REWU) Program. She is a Fellow of ASME and AIAA, and a Distinguished Alumna of the Illinois Institute of Technology. Urmila received her Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

Dr. Shawn Moylan - 2018 ASME Congressional Government Fellow
Sponsored by: NIST/ASME Government Relations

Dr. Shawn Moylan is a 2017-2018 ASME Congressional Fellow and serving in the office of the Honorable Gary Peters.  He is a mechanical engineer with experience in advanced manufacturing at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).  Shawn has policy experience in the Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office and technical experience as project leader for multiple additive manufacturing and smart machine tool projects in NIST’s Engineering Laboratory.  His research has focused on developing test methods and reference data to reduce the high costs associated with qualifying machines and components for aerospace, medical, and other applications. Shawn is a leader in the advanced manufacturing community: currently Chair, Executive Committee for ASME Manufacturing Engineering Division; Co-chair, Technology Roadmap Advisory Group for America Makes — the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute; Vice-Chair, subcommittee on Test Methods in ASTM International Committee F42 on Additive Manufacturing Technologies.